Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Narnia, Pirates and Tree
2005-12-13 - 11:06 a.m.


Well, I've had a packed week and weekend. All this week was practicing for the Saturday concert. That in and of itself was tiring. So with the snow on Friday, I was tempted to the evil ways of the Morgensterns and talked into taking a Narnia skip day. I worked a bit from home in the am, and went to see the 1:20 show with Roland, Theo, Kyna, and Arielle. The movie was fabulous. Go see it. I love it when a scene is so good it gives you chills. And no, it wasn't just the frozen nature of the theater. Sometimes you gotta wonder if it was coincidence that the day The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe opens, many children are granted a day off of school due to Mother Nature. I'm not saying, I'm just saying... After the movie we then went out to Thai food and had a yummy time. The rest of the evening was low-key, devoted to a chiropractor visit and watching What Women Want down in the basement.

Saturday was blessed with the good news that the CDs were in fact ready. Nothing like cutting it to the last minute. We also got our Christmas decorations out and based on the news that Kyna had a tree free to a good home, we moved furniture in the living room to see if we could fit a large tree in there. I also did some shopping at Target, got a nap, and then readied ourselves for the concert. Saturday night was the big focus after all. Lost Cause was performing with the Chromatics at the Greenbelt Arts Center. Despite some last minute staging problems, etc. I think the concert went very well. The Pirate Xmas Medley was a hit, and all credit should go to the Mellins for that one, since it was their brain child. We sold CDs, looked appropriately piratical, and went out to Clyde's afterwards to celebrate, and ended up staying out until past 1am. I am so grateful to Keilyn, Ormswyn, Deirdre, Bess, Val and Arielle for coming out to watch the show. It was great to see friendly faces in the audience that wasn't just family obligated to be there. Thank you so much. CDs will be available for sale at Twelfth Night, for those that want them.

Sunday we slept in, seriously slept in. Then we puttered with non-tree decorations for a bit, and decided to make the trek to NoVA to collect said free-tree. We just dashed down there and back, with only a short visit with the Kyna Tree-giver. We contemplated visiting with other folks, but opted instead to head home and start with the tree-raising. It went together fairly easily, especially with two people. We then discovered that we were missing indoor tree appropriate lights. I've been using the tiny pre-lit tree for the past few years, so I think when light strands blew, we just tossed them. Oh well. I sent Alan to Target to get lights, because I would have gotten out of the boat and brought home more than just lights from there, and I stayed home and worked on decorating the wreath and laying out the boughs to add a bit of evergreen scent to the place, finishing up just in time for Alan to get back home. So we light tree, decorate tree, even put star on tree, and then halfway through took a break for stew with the Morgensterns and friends. Wilted salad, beef stew, butternut bisque and yummy cookies made for a very lovely evening with friends. Alan and I finally bailed and went back home to finish with the Christmas decorations. Now normally when I trim the tree, I tell the story of each ornament, whether it was the decorative ball from Drea or the lovely embroidered horse from China from 1979. One year Kirsten was subjected to this, which I continuously apologize for. Alan's received it more than once. And last year I just did the ritual out loud to myself. This year, I managed to contain myself to simple shorts sighs and squeals of delight as each ornament went on the tree. I think we are pretty well decorated, all except the outside roof lights. Alan has not been inclined, and I can't say that I blame him, to go up on the icy snow covered roof to hang the lights. If this snow doesn't melt and if we continue to get more, we might just have to forgo the lights on the roof line.

Guess I should contemplate Christmas shopping then, huh? 11 more shopping days.. yipe.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next