Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Pink Extravaganza
2005-11-21 - 3:58 p.m.


So on Saturday I was reminded that I have the best friends in the entire world!!!

Saturday morning I puttered a bit and then woke up from a couch nap to find Kirsten had arrived, in a very fetching new red leather coat.  She is to be my company for the manicure and pedicure.  So I shower and get ready to go.  Thought about putting on a blue sweater, but went with a pink V-neck instead.  Kirsten and I headed out and had a great time with getting our fingers and toes done, and then she waited and flipped thru home decor magazines while I got an hour long massage.  I had assumed that this was a present from my darling husband and all the ladies were cooing at how thoughtful he was.  I found out later that I owe the spa day to Wen and Rob. 

After total pampering and relaxation, Kirsten and I then went to DSW to go shoe shopping.  She looked at replacement merrels, I tried on a few pairs of cowboy boots before settling on an extremely comfy pair.  Then we scanned the rest of the store... I spot the pink Chucks.  So I just had to have a pair.  So as we round the aisle to the pinky-goodness I spy these pair of boots that are brown suede with long blonde fur at the top near the knee.  I make some random comment about the poor Cocker Spaniels who were sacrificed for these ugly boots and make a random fellow shopper laugh. 

So pink Chucks, low or high top?  It's been over a decade since my last pair of Chucks so I was feeling all nostalgic and balking at the jump in price.  Damn inflation.  I try the low one on my left foot and the high top on my right foot, decisions, decisions...  I settled on the lowtops, since they showed more of the monkey socks and if I want ankle coverage, I wear my ankle boots.  And the Pink Chucks get added to the bag with the gorgeous cowgirl boots.  As we round the next aisle headed to the sale racks I make another random comment about meeting my pink shoe quota for the day.  Same random fellow shopper laughs out loud and says she can't wait to hear what I say next.  Apparently I'm funnier when I don't try.  Sadly we didn't run into her the rest of the time in the store.

The sale area looms closer and we dive into the fray.  Kirsten keeps pointing out more and more pink shoes.  The sheer quantity is really overwhelming, even to me.  I dutifully ignored the pink sequined flats and the pink with white polka dot sandals, as well as the pink hard plastic kitten heeled flip flops.  I did not ignore the pale pink chinese laundry uggs, but they were too snug around my shapely (read: chunky) calves, so there was no point in further contemplation of them.  And then we spotted them.  Cute, precious, pink suede ankle boots.  Mmmm...  I look at them dolefully, exclaiming that they are probably hideously uncomfortable and shouldn't come home with me.  I was so wrong.  They were glove perfect.  They are wonderfully comfy, with a nice low but snazzy kitten heel, pink goodness.  Not too tight across the ball of my foot.  And as it turned out, the changeable nature of the suede makes them perfect for many of the different pinks in my wardrobe.  Obviously, despite my previous comment about my pink shoe quota, there was yet more to add to my bag.  I figure it is time to escape the lure of DSW before I truly exceed the pink shoe quota.  I was even almost seduced by a pair of bright sage green loafers before I came to my senses.  Gen: 3 pairs of shoes, Kirsten: none.  Apparently even the blue merrels weren't enough to seduce her.  She is strong, and not easily swayed by the beautiful shoes.  She was not as strong in Pier 1 where the blue swirl dot glassware called to her, but did much less damage.

We eventually head home and I am greeted at the door with my darling husband handing me a cute creamy pink drink, with umbrella, called a Pink Squirrel.  The entire house was full of pink balloons and pink flowers and soon all of my wonderful friends arrived bearing many pink gifts.  Wendy, Rob, Tom, Alan and Mel made massive amounts of really good food, and cleaned and decorated the house to make it party worthy.  It was so fun to have lots of friends over, so many folks drinking the pink drinks (Pink Squirrels, Cosmopolitans, Strawberry daiquiris, Strawberry margaritas and the berry Hard Mike's).  I got to see many of the wonderful folks in my world, and even quite a few I hadn't seen in ages.  We ate chicken satay, beef spring rolls, these addictive cheese crackers, caramelized onion dip, cheesy proscuitto stuffed pasties, crab stuffed mushroom caps and all manner of exceptional foods.  Tom also made a vat of lobster bisque, and it keeps getting better and better.  We had over a gallon left over, so we had some for brunch on Sunday.  Wendy also made me a chocolate cake iced in pink raspberry icing, with coordinating white cupcakes.  I got sung to, and even got treated to the Angel of Death doing her sad birthday song.  There was a great profusion of pink in the presents too, from silly notebooks to lots of pink scarves and socks to japanese bubblegum to string related books to a pink polka dot fleece throw.  I think Wendy hopes that the party will be a pink intervention and make me cut back, but I promise you, it has only increased my means of pinkness.  Folks stayed past midnight and I had a great time chatting with all manner of friends.  As the last guests left, we tidied a bit and then I got to chatting with Brigit until way too late/early in the morning, 4AM!  But it was worth it, every bit.  I appreciate those that came for a few hours to those that stayed all night, those that came from five minutes away and those that came from 3 hours away.  It was great to see you all who could make it.  I repeat, I have the best friends ever!

The weekend was rounded out with the post-party clean-up, noshing on party food leftovers, and ended with more ROME with Rob, Wen, Tom, Courtney and Rachel.  Season finale was awesome, and I'm sure next season will be equally wonderful.  It didn't hurt that my weekend started out pretty good.  I had planned to take Friday as a Harry Potter skip day, so after practice and dinner on Thursday night, I was weak and I went and saw HP4 at midnight.  It was fabulous, and there were no lines and no truly annoying children out that late, just teenagers.  It was also a good thing since our furnace was out so I spent most of my HP Skip Day actually waiting for the heating guys to come and stoking the fire and baking brownies to keep warm, as well as fetching firewood from Rob and Wen's backyard, which apparently gave them heart palpitations as they were prepping for my party.  I meant to go see an afternoon showing of the new P&P movie, but succumbed to a nap on the couch instead which lasted way longer than I had planned.  Then Alan and I had pizza and snuggling on the couch while watching Dogma for our festive Friday night. 

It was by far one of the best weekends in a really really long time!  The only thing missing was my Chris and Bera, but the world ain't perfect, and I know they tried, bless them. 

Best friends ever!  Dunno what I do sometimes to deserve them. 

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next