Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Ymir and Val Day
2005-02-15 - 1:00 p.m.

Alan, my sweet Alan, took me to see Beth Patterson last night in Rockville, as part of the IMT shows.  She was playing with a duo of harpists called HEN.  They were very good as well and they teemed up with Beth as the finale for a stringfest traditional irish song.  It was really faboo.  I tried not to sing along during the show and keep the feet stomping to a minimum, but what can I say, I'm a fan.  Beth has a new CD out called Caught in the Act, not on the website yet.  It contains all new songs, but was recorded live in the past year.  No back-up band needed.  And you get the funny intros to a couple of the songs, which is really half of the show.  Beth is part comedienne and part singer/song-writer.  Or maybe I just get her sense of humor.  Devil duckie, you're the one....  Cause in the Act is wonderful, and BdeB will just have to wait until KA&SFest (or when next I see him) to see if he was good enough to get a CD, or not.  It was a great Valentine's Day; no fancy dinner out (I did make grilled cheese sandwiches and cut them in heart shapes), no need for elaborate flowers, screw jewelry, just the company of my sweetie and good music made the night perfect.

Ymir was pretty cool. Actually really chilly in the am.  I had two pairs of socks on, one wool, many layers, and only managed to thaw by the middle of the day.  It was at least dry, and relatively warm, for Ymir.  The dry part was key.   I got to help run the rapier double elim tourney.  54 fighters, I think.  There were minor snafus such as folks signing in but not telling us they weren't fighting in the tourney, and one poor soul had to drop out.  This gave Bob's list too many byes, but it was sadly unavoidable.  At least Alan seemed to have fun fighting the byes, yes, it was all a ploy to get him more time on the field, yeah, that's it.  Happily we finished with plenty of time for pick-ups to reign supreme, and I got to go shopping and hang out some with my Bera.  I got to see Sparky and Mel (er, Master Wulfbrand and Baroness Magdalena now in the East) on a breeze thru too since they were in attendance.  During the day was one protegeing, 3 apprenticings, and I missed the evening squirings, but such is life.  All in all it was a good event, even if I did get scolded for a mid-court sneak prince-hug by the Baron of Nottinghill C...  :D  Big congrats to Ros and Chris on their whitescarfing, to the various pearls and GDs made that day, to the new WH Baronage, and big whoop for a Ymir with no peerages to worry about.  Courts at Ymirs are always long enough as it is. 

Afterwards we escaped to dinner at the Megaplex of China Buffett.  Holy General Tso's Chicken Batman!  It was amazing the quality, variety and quantity of food in abundance.  whoohooo!  Later we adjourned to the Sleep Inn and hung out with folks in the Breakfast area until quiet hours and then hung out in somebody's room til 12:30am.  I got to hang out with Adendra and Tegan and talk all sorts of glass and string things, and Isobel loaned me some yarn and needles (since I left my knitting back in our room at the other hotel) so I made a pouch and showed a bunch of folks double-knitting.  Big shout-out to M. Susanna the knitter for such great instructions!  It was a great night of fun socializing, and Roland provided me with booze, and Theo gave Alan scotch, which is always a plus. 

Sunday found us sleeping in and Alan fetching me breakfast in bed.  whoohoo!  We had a leisurely drive back home with a stop in Fredricksburg for lunch.  Alan wanted to steak so we found this place called Bonefish that was super nice and we took a nice long lunch over some super yummy food.  After the 3 course meal we had no room for dessert even.  It cost a bit, but I highly recommend them.  It was in the Central Park shopping conglomerate area on Rt. 3 in F-burg near DSW Wearhouse.  We rounded up the evening with unpacking the truck, naps, B5 and a little bit of reading.  Not a bad weekend on the whole.  I just wish I could kick this evil cold that is clinging to me like bar-smoke to a jacket.  It seems that spicy food, particularly Chinese food, is helping to keep the symptoms some at bay and make me feel at least 50% human.  Lack of spice makes me feel like a scoop of primordial goo.

blorp blorp..

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next