Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

caught in my throat
2005-02-17 - 2:47 p.m.

Still getting over being sick... Took off yesterday, visited Doctor, got drugs, spicy TexMex food for lunch, Disney movie and then a 4 hour nap. My cough seems to actually be gone, just have sniffles and fever left. I hope antibiotics will finally help me kick this thing. Of course my poor boss stayed out to care for his sick kid and now he's got it...

Caught in the Act has been on constant repeat in the truck since I got it. Favorite memorable line so far on the CD:
Your sperm count would be zero, but you'd always be my hero...

But one song, just is gut wrenchingly sad, so I must share. For all of us who have regrets on missed opportunities and lost loved ones.

Goodbye, My Old Friend

My friend I can't explain this
My world has changed forever
And I'm scared I'll drag you down if I should fall
It's hard to see the glass as half-full
Instead of half-empty
When you know we both deserve to have it all
I won't subject you to this drama
As my life gets an overhaul

So goodbye, my old friend
I hope that if I see you again
We can just go on pretending that life is fair
I hope you love what you do
I hope that someone's tending to you
The way I was supposed to
When I was there
Goodbye, my old friend

My friend, it's still hard to accept
That now the air between us
Is frozen; what a tangled web we weave
When once we were as sisters
Reduced to less than strangers
With a stalemate game face on, for I believe
That when the four winds reveal our true colors
We may not like what we perceive

So goodbye, my old friend
I hope that if I see you again
We can give each other space with cordial form
I could have been your ally still
I tried to help your joy be fulfilled
But now there's a chill
That never can be warmed
Goodbye, my old friend

My friend, according to the book
This parting is temporary
Your essential being isn't really gone
Were you scared on you last journey?
Did you suffer long in darkness?
Will you greet me when it's my turn to pass on?
It's impossible not to be saddened
As you greet the eternal dawn

So goodbye, my old friend
I hope that if I see you again
You will recognize me past my physical array
They say we walk into the light
And all souls as one there unite
So I know it's just goodnight
When I say
"Goodbye, my old friend"

Goodbye, my old friend
Beth Patterson, Caught in the Act

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next