Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

battening down the hatches...
2003-09-17 - 4:57 p.m.

I feel rather odd preparing for a hurricane so far inland. But then again I remember catching the remnants of Hugo after it tore thru Charlotte. Heck, that one storm started a family business of tree farming that continues this day. The farm had so many downed trees my grandpa just decided to fell and sell, and what a wise move it was.

But I also miss the surging waves and grey skies of a hurricane coming towards the beach. I confess I've never been at a beach when a hurricane hit, but we were there just before Bill hit quite a few years back. There were several (drunk) surfers waiting for Bill so that could surf the big waves. It's fairly impressive in a "let Nature's forces just take control and ride it out" kinda way. I confess that when I see the stupid weather forcasters on the beach as the hurricane hits, I envy them a bit.

But we are being responsible. We will bring in the patio furniture and anything else that could be easily turned into a projectile. Thanks Deb for making me remember the birdfeeders. I'd be bitter if we put everything away and the one thing we missed came crashing into our new sliding glass door. Heck, I'd really like to get Alan's parking space cleared out so he can park the truck under shelter. It'd be a shame to have the holly tree fall on Rhett just after he had the dent in his side repaired.

My work has already declared that it is closing down as of noon tomorrow and off on Friday. Not a bad plan since estimates are that we'll start getting smacked as of rush hour. Now that would suck. So, if I am lucky, and good, and the storm tracks West to Winchester instead of right thru DC, and I still have power and water, I might get the wallpaper paste off the wall and maybe even a coat of paint or two. :) If I am without power, well, I have knitting and weaving I can do by candle/flashlight.


Katie sent me this Killer Quiz. Moi? Why yes, I got a perfect score. :) It's very funny, unless you are a programmer I guess.


and the latest quiz results:

Morpheus
Morpheus



?? Which Of The Greek Gods Are You ??
brought to you by Quizilla

Hmmm...


What Is Your Battle Cry?

Yea, verily: Who is that, rampaging through the candy store! It is Genvieve, hands clutching a studded crowbar! And with a spectacular grunt, her voice cometh:

"I'm going to spank you with such reckless abandon, you will wake up from the Matrix!!!"

Find out!
Enter username:
Are you a girl, or a guy ?

created by beatings : powered by monkeys

What Is Your Battle Cry?

Yea, verily: Who is that, rampaging along the hotel lobby! It is Jen, hands clutching a piece of chainlink fence! She cries homicidally:

"I'm going to punch you until armored tanks pull us apart, and trade you for a candy bar!!!"

Find out!
Enter username:
Are you a girl, or a guy ?

created by beatings : powered by monkeys

What Is Your Battle Cry?

Lo! Who is that, sprinting through the hotel lobby! It is Genevieve, hands clutching gilded boxing gloves! She grunts homicidally:

"I'm seriously going to beat you into a fine spicy powder!!!"

Find out!
Enter username:
Are you a girl, or a guy ?

created by beatings : powered by monkeys

What Is Your Battle Cry?

Who is that, striding through the candy store! It is Genevieve D'Aquitaine, hands clutching a piece of chainlink fence! She howls ominously:

"I'm going to bruise you in such an unsafe manner, your timbers will shiver!!!"

Find out!
Enter username:
Are you a girl, or a guy ?

created by beatings : powered by monkeys

What Is Your Battle Cry?

Lo! Who is that, striding on the mountains! It is Bubbles, hands clutching a jeweled meat hammer! She bellows ominously:

"For the love of beatings, I destroy all in my path until there is no more hope!!"

Find out!
Enter username:
Are you a girl, or a guy ?

created by beatings : powered by monkeys


Yeah! What she said!!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next