Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

it's a lazy afternoon...
2003-05-12 - 2:08 p.m.

Am typing this from the patio, lovely sound of waterfall from pond in the packground punctuated by the chirpings of birds and the splashing of fish. Oh, and periodically by the banging of the furnace guys. Ah... love the wireless cable modem connection....

They are adding on a new high grade filter and humidifier so soon I will have the wonderful controled indoor environment that I so love. But in the meantime there are some inconveniences that come with it, like banging of duct work, strangers in house, and working from home.


So, we had a lovely BBQ on friday night. the rain stopped during the afternoon leaving us with a lovely if cool evening for grilling out. I was sorry that some folks couldn't make it, but we had a good diverse group as it was. And I bought too much so we had left overs for lunch on Sunday. Folks dispersed throughout the house a bunch, Sam and Kelly showed up and so they got the grand tour and we got to see them, which was lovely. We got to see the BlueDuke and his Honey Bee, and he got to see our waterworks and his Irises in their new happy environment. I also helped the AoD put up her new diary look. She wanted simple, no images, clean. I think I achieved that. It was a great time and some folks even hung out until past midnight. yay! When folks don't want to leave that's the sign of a good party. :)

Saturday morning dawned and the woodworkers migrated to the shop and Corby and I made breakfast of omelets for everyone and then I set to the day's tasks of cleaning. There was much vacuuming up tracked in dirt from the backyard thanks to the grilling, a few dishes, cleaning the kitchen floors and counters and then Alan and Kirsten returned from Home Depot with carpet spot remover so I could get up a few stains. Apparently someone's new vintage shoes bleed a bit when damp, but the carpet cleaner got that up no problem. Just thought you'd like to know for the future. :) And then, and then... I walked the dog. And oh is Maxie an enthusiastic walker. Our trip was longer than half an hour of very vigorous walking and pulling and sniffing and dipping doggie toes in the creek, etc. The exercise was very good for me, but man is that dog tough. But she and I had a good time and then we plopped down for a nap, a well deserved nap.

Saturday night was Sushi Delivery, thanks to Theo picking up my refusal to think about the order, and we all gathered around the table for some yummy asian food goodness. And then there was more late night staying up and visiting with the Lystlunds, and making fun of the french translation of Ice Shaver. tee hee, we can be so childish at times.

Sunday morning brought me being awakened by the slurpy tongue of Max on my hand, and more woodworking, following breakfast of biscuts and cheesy sausages. I then did more dishes, and sat down to BBC America and some weaving, lucetting, sewing, etc in front of the TV. Ah, the great idiot box. And the wonderful What Not to Wear marathon. I was very bitter that the last half hour was just a repeat of the first half hour and not a showing of the episode where they targetted a guy. Then Mel stayed for dinner and we picked up Indian food and had a feast. I managed to avoid the left overs for lunch since they will be very useful on Tuesday night when Alan is at Practice.

It was an absolutely lovely weekend, full of friends, and still had time for a bit of alone and quiet. Ah...

And our irises are doing very well up front. We definitely need to separate them in the fall and sprinkle them through the spaces between the rose bushes. I also found three buds on the BlueDuke pond irises this morning which have quelched my fears that they wouldn't bloom this year. yippie skippy.

ah well, back to work...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next