Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

a chimney and a hey nonny nonny...
2003-04-29 - 2:06 p.m.

The previously mentioned sad pink azalea is less pitiful than I thought. I broke off the dead branches, looking closely since some branches that looked dead had some fine green growth. With the debris removed, the pink has more room to grow and is actually in bloom and looking fairly decent, if small. Here I go, rooting for the underdogs again. :)

While testing the new image editing and WYSIWYG editor here at work, I played around and put up a page about my weaving projects thus far. I still need to experiment with some of the cooler features and not be afraid to play more, but just learning how Dreamweaver works for the basics is a good thing. Perhaps I can get work to pay for a class where I can learn all sorts of fun things. hmmm... all depends on the budget.

The production of As You Like It by the RSC at the Kennedy Center was excellent! And there were sheep! we thought about calling Padraiga or Theo from the play and holding up the phone so they could hear the actors Bahh! but couldn't get a signal and it would have been rude anyway. So, what is up with seeing plays with Quentin and them having sheep involved?!? The first play he went to see with us was A Winter's Tale with yodelling and sheep and stuff. And now these great English Shakespearean actors all play sheep in a field complete with grazing and chewing and bleating. Oh, it was just too good to be true. Definitely worth it.

This weekend was the Bandes' Mousehole. This event was intended to focus on trades in a town. A few of the boys trooped out into the woods and retrieved a mostly felled dogwood branch that they proceeded to turn into legs of a 3 legged bench. The top was scrap hardwood from the firewood pile. The legs were cut to size, had the bark stripped off of them, then three guys took turns each cutting down the diameter of the top of each leg to notch into the stool's seat. They used only hand tools (saws, draw knife, chisels, planer, etc.) and by the end of the day, with only a little bit of harrassment it took 4 grown men 6 hours to complete a rustic stool. Hee hee hee, but it was soooo cool! And Fanny was selling her meat pies and fruit and bamberry tarts for period coin (in order to put back into circulation for pay.) There were a few stout young chaps who braved the showers to practice the arte of fence on the towne greene. (heh heh heh) The rest of us stayed in the tavern working on sewing, knitting, fingerloop braiding, and other fiber arts. And then the clouds burst with sun in the afternoon and games of shuttlecock and balls (bocce) were played. After a simple fare dinner of beef and barley stew we retired to the tavern for card games (the most absurd game of Put with 7 players), board games (including the most amazing Goose board in creation), and a bit of singing. I had the tune to Watkin's Ale stuck in my head most of Sunday for clean-up. It was a very fine event, and I think everyone seemed to have a good time. I also got to give Mafia names to the other two Jens. Since I'm apparently Pit Boss, and Jen#3 was labelled Chainsaw at Bob's party, we labeled Jen#4 as Pick-axe and Jen#2 (better known as Lisette) as Knuckles. That's right folks, the Jen-mafia is taking over. Of course discussion about how today's parents are doing the same thing only with names like Maddison, etc. ensued. It also looks like Pick-axe and Adam will be camping with us at Pennsic. She's a pretty cool lady (and he doesn't suck :), so we're looking forward to it.

On the way back on Sunday we stopped at the Inwood Restaurant with Bob and Laura for yummy burgers and amazing pie. pi-ie..... Then we also stopped by Mel's place in Centerville to deliver goods from Vic and chat for a bit before getting back on the road. I finally got to see Omen, instead of just hearing about her, and she is a really cute snuggly kittie. I could tell from afar.

That pretty much wraps up the week. I had vain hopes of finishing the pair of bodies I was working on for this weekend, but it was not meant to be. I did get half of the lacing holes done throughout the event though, so only 19 more holes to do on the other side, edging, and tabs. only... Isobel also showed me a better stich for doing eyelet holes, so the top ones differ from the bottom ones. Right now I'm okay with it, we shall see if it starts to bug me and I need to rip them out and try again. I figure if I make a wide flat lacing cord with my new lucet, then I should be okay, right?

This weekend is Crown. long drive, new heirs, in charge of A&S, see ya there!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next