Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

much love
2003-02-14 - 5:36 p.m.

This night two years ago, my wonderful husband asked me to marry him. I of course said "yes". I think tonight we'll do dinner out at the place we went to two years ago. I love him so much, I'm such a lucky girl!

Started the new job on Monday. Working for the Graduate School now. I can't even fathom why I ever hesitated now that I am here. I think it was fear of the unknown. For starters, everyone is super nice, not that this is necessarily a change, but important to mention. I've had lunch with co-workers all week and even with my old Systems buds one day. I may not have gotten an office, but my cube is nice and relatively secluded and pleasant. And (Meng would be so proud) I've even decorated it. That Christopher Lowell episode that dealt with decorating cubes has stuck with me. Thjora, I've received lots of jealous comments about my window poster. The Dean who is from British Columbia says it reminds her of home. Got any extras? I also hung up some cream satin star fabric that not only breaks up the institutional mauve, but reflects the light better from my tulip and pink lamps as well. I've got a cute mirror hung from an antique pink ribbon so I can see behind me, and constantly check to make sure I don't have stuff in my teeth. I even made a framed collage of some of the postcards Mel has sent me from Europe. And the Dean, being the nice lady that she is, brought me a potted mini-dafodil plant as well as some pothos for the low light above my cabinets. I've received great joy from doing the little projects I have and helping others one on one that the satisfaction is amazing so far. I get to be creative, and my phone rarely rings so far. And since there is no near fridge and the Coke machines are far away, I am getting great exercise taking the stairs everywhere. All these benefits and they pay me more too, as well as giving me a super cool work laptop.


Ymir. What can be said of Ymir? It was great, and frustrating at the same time. I broke myself, but nothing that judicious amounts of sleep, muscle relaxers and wrists braces haven't fixed. It was so great to be in charge of setting up Roland's vigil. I wish I had the energy, time and concentration to truly focus on making it beautiful, but I trusted the details to Anne, Corby and Thjora and all was magnificent. I was glad to be involved in some small way for Andrew's vigil as well. I was glad I managed to finish the hand sewing on the daggy hood by 4am on Saturday morning, and even better that the last 5 inches of stitches were done in warmth and light as opposed to in the freezing cold. Speaking of the cold, I'm not so sure that the heater in Roland's vigil tent was working. I could have sworn it was the light in his eyes and heart keeping us warm. I felt like I missed Saturday afternoon. Saturday morning was spent at investiture and Roland elevation courts. And then moving the truck for taking down the set up. Then the court on the field. I also proved that I am not a crazy pyro like Bob and the Monkey, but with Kimmie's help we did manage to give a little heat to the rapier list MoLs. Then after the taking down of the tents, packing the trucks, the warmth of the royal cabin and it's lovely inhabitants attracted me too strongly. I do not know how long I napped on the couch, but it felt like ages. Then was evening court. Tash's and Q's elevations. With the exception of fair Andrew I believe the Peers made this weekend exemplified quiet excellence and they all displayed the ability to succeed just by being better people than the rest of us. Feast was completely delicious and filling and made a happy beginning to another late night of hanging out by the fire.

Happy moments were in no particular order:

bright purple and gold

hot cider for cold hands

Isobel's loan on the warm silk scarf

smiles all around

blazing fire for warming and soothing tired bodies

Grendel's House of Pain! (chiroprator on site)

firm beds in cabin

yellow split pea soup

being able to remember naalbinding! I've made a tube!

hot shower on sunday

finding my lucet's on monday...

I don't care if it rains or freezes, so long as I've got my plastic Byram on the dashboard of my car...

Hope to see many of you this Saturday at the Lochmere Mid-Winter Dance Revel. I just hope the bulk of the snow holds off til Sunday.

Much love to you all... :)

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next