Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

shooting stars
2003-02-03 - 4:11 p.m.

To tell the truth, I don't visualize well. When someone said on 9/11/2001 that a plane had hit the World Trade Center in NYC, I couldn't fathom the reprecussions. Only after I saw the video did it sink in. I have to see to understand sometimes.

The same thing happened on Saturday. Someone told me the Columbia was lost. I couldn't comprehend. I asked what that means? To me it was like saying "the eagle lands at midight." The entire day I went thru not truly getting it, making calls I shouldn't have if I had gotten it. Getting on with the day, making plans, going places. The concept of 7 lives falling as a shooting star was beyond my scope.

But when I returned from UofA, the footage on the TV while I told Alan of my day stopped me dead in my tracks. Suddenly it was all real. And I grieve for the NASA family, and the astronaut's families and all of humanity. I can't understand as Theo does, but I do grieve. The following was in my mailbox this morning from a costume list I'm on:

By the time you read this, you will probably have heard the sad news that the Space Shuttle Columbia broke up today (Feb 1) during reentry over Texas.

When something like this happens, we all set aside our other concerns for a while, and take some time to reflect on the tragedy. While we can personally do nothing about it, our thoughts and hearts are with the astronauts and their families, as well as all the personnel at NASA.

Let's appreciate the heroes who take us into tomorrow, as well as those who defend today.

Wayne and Margo Anderson


One of my many flaws is that when given a task I often do not take the time to fully consider the rightness of something. I can be good at just getting things done. Given a task by the Crown, I serve at their whim, so I get to it trying to find the best solution given the situation. This often leads to me not looking for a better plan, but mostly just making a solution fit the current plan. I was asked this weekend if something is/will be right. I had to respond that I hadn't thought right or wrong, but merely that the Crown wants it to happen, therefore it will. Then it was pointed out to me that perhaps we do need to stop and think about the rightness of something as opposed to just making it happen.

This just goes to show that the world really does require all types. While I can't be all types, and I can try to see the rightness and wrong, it can be good to know that if I need to know right and wrong there are folks to turn to. And I hope they know that when it just needs to get done, I can mostly do that.

I apologize for any that my "Must get it done" attitude has hurt.

And for those who may see me as a rock, know that I am only a rock for others, because of others. Without anyone around I can weep and thrash about in grief and frustration as well as anyone. But when I have someone to be strong for, that is when the strength is found. Not for myself, but for you am I strong.

On the plus side, I learned naalbinding on Sat. thanks to Bronach...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next