Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

we had a plan and then it rained
2002-01-31 - 3:50 p.m.

Roland is the bestest most wonderful guy around. Not only did he make a bunch of QoC medallions for the medallion coffers, in spite of much hounding and evil on my part, he also made me a very special gift, and I cherish it! I've worn it next to my heart all day long, that's how much I love him and it. Although I do kinda wish it had a few of Kymber's ermine spots on it. ;) I will wear it always to show everyone that I am a bad example, one not to follow. snicker snicker, tee hee hee!

I got people's stuff back to them last night. I'm beginning to think that the quote from 20 Year, "We had a plan and then it rained" is becoming useful and used more and more often. I had a plan, I even had a backup plan, sigh, but nonetheless, it all happened, everything is back, er, closer to its owners, and all is well. The filing party at Wen's is much more enjoyable when I stuff instead of file, 'cause that way I deal with dander-free papers instead of dander-infected papers. Really for Gen's allergies, it is all for the best.

Tonight Alan and I are going to meet with a photographer for the wedding. This guy seemed like such a nice guy when Gina and I met him at the Showcase, and he was the only one what was nice, comfortable and knew about and been to Oakland. yay. I have high hopes that we'll get alot done tonight. Still need to call florist.

On a conpletely different note, I love my aunt and uncle, they are just the greatest. Kevin, Laura, Rob (de Rath) and Tracie know of whom I speak. It seems like I have seen them more this year than any other, and while not all the circumstances have been ideal, it is great to get to know them in adulthood. I saw them in New Orleans last March, in Florida last July, and in Minnesota in Sept. Even better I get to see them tomorrow night for dinner, and when they come up for my wedding, and then later in June for their anniversary. (Which, if I wasn't such a repetitive bitch I would know that I said this last entry. sigh.) My aunt, for those that haven't had the chance to meet her, is like a super cool Martha Stewart. The first time I walked into her house in Metarie I was afraid to touch anything since it looked like we had walked into a show house set up for taking pictures for a magazine. Martha would be so envious of my Aunt Mary. She does the rolled up towel thing naturally, everything is color coordinated and matches nicely. Hell she even made the fleur-de-lys and safari animal prints in the guest bathroom match somehow. Magic, I tell you. She has this uncanny sense of style. Add to that her humanitarin side where she used to work at the Kennedy Flight Center in FL and then did some time volunteering for the New Orleans Audubon Zoo. Now she works with my Uncle with his business. My aunt has style, and grace and even better a great sense of humor, but she also lets you know when you cross a line. I have loads of respect for my aunt. My Uncle Pete is a salty old sea dog. Pete and Mary used to be on racing sail boat crews from time to time, racing from Pensacola to Cancun. He'd spend his life on a sailboat if Mary would let him. I think he and Ernie would get along famously. He speaks fluent Portugese, and offers almost everyone a beer or something to drink whenever they enter his presence. And yet he has always been warm and great with kids and funny and just all around fabulous. And he teared up with the best of us those times in Florida and in Minnesota. I haven't known him all my life (my aunt's second husband), but I feel like I have.

So, enough nostalgia, especially since it is only me who really gets it, so I'll be off then. :)

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next