Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

lovely weekend
2002-02-04 - 4:23 p.m.

hmmm.... so much happened, had a great weekend overall, lots of fun people, etc. Wrists hurt from hand sewing one of the silk lady in waiting hoods. It looks really cool at this point, especially the contrasting gold silk running stitch for the hem of said hood to coordinate with the rose (which still needs to be attached) looks pretty keen. At least it was just one silly hood rather than an entire flemish market woman's outfit, right? even I'm not that much of a crackhead. :)

Friday night was a lovely dinner at Timpano's in Rockville, and it was divine. Had the roasted mussels for appetizer. Seafood fanatics that my aunt and uncle are, they loved it. Then Alan and I succumbed to the special, pork chops and sauteed spinach. Oh man was it good! Nice juicy pork chops, nothing dry and overcooked here. And then there was Creme Brulee for dessert, that thankfully others had some bites of, but I confess to finishing most of it off myself. We were there for almost exactly the time frame I had budgetted and got to Mike and Kirsten's on time, and with no delays except one stop for caffiene to finish the trip. When we got there we had the requisite hanging out socializing, play with the dog time before heading off to bed.

Saturday morning was a rude early awakening, but blissfully David drove us all in their van so we didn't have to think, and Kirsten even got a little nap on the way to the event. It was so nice to be chauffered around. Thanks David! The event was fun even though I only went to one class. I got to sit around and chat with Lauren and Katie and sew the gores on said hood, and set up for court and take down after court and visit with friends in the lovely resource room, and then follow Queenie to her afternoon painting garb class. It was a very lovely, if brisk day. I ended up getting some exercise running around the outside of the site looking for Casper from which I could borrow a mug, and only after I was almost done fighting with the wind whipping my coif did I remember that I was wearing a hood and could pull it up over my head if I was smart. sheesh. I am smart. S-M-R-T!

Aryanna was a very good Queen, even had the fortune to meet one of the recipients of a AoA before calling them into court, which was nice. The gentleman was extremely gracious and nice. Miss Gina (Lady Kadlin) also got her AoA which is nice considering she has been a pillar of strength during the reign so far. Yay Gina. Kelly even did a lovely scroll for her with kitty-kats and angels and knot work and all sorts of stuff on it. very cool indeed. Dame Caitlin's elevation to the order of the Pelican was a grand affair. Her dress was stunning, green velvet with beaded pelicans on the sleeves. I dare say that the ceremony itself was a bit, um, long winded, but grand nonetheless. Good herald Kevin!

Afterwards, David drove the tired masses back to the Niemann-Dawson Bed and Breakfast and we had a delicious pot roast waiting for us when we got home. There was feasting and chatting about a number of things and we stayed up and played with Maxi to our little hearts content and then crashed hard and slept the heavy sleep. Or at least I did. ;)

Sunday was a lazy morning of more sewing, reading the paper, flipping thru magazines and Hot Sticky Buns for breakfast. Trust me that the variations of inflections that are added to those three words can really change the connotation of them. The sticky buns themselves were yummy for breakfast, as was the chicken and apple sausage. :) Alan and I took Rt. 301 home instead of the boring interstate just to be spontaneous. The sky was a bit overcast, but a more scenic drive than 95 just the same. Once I reached home, I burrowed under the flannel sheets for a nap, which was a bit excessive, but every bit indulgent and I liked it. I confess that we didn't watch a bit of the Superbowl, save those few times we glanced up at the screen at Outback during a lovely dinner with Rob and Wen. Hell, I had no clue who was even playing the Patriots. I was lucky to hear the Patriots were playing. Last year was much more exciting with the Ravens in the Super Bowl. And, am I just a total geek for recognizing that the Super Bowl number and the AS number are the same. SB XXXVI and AS 36? coincidence? I think not. 36 years ago must have started some form of legal violent sport for fun and spectators. Maybe I'm just a fruit bat.

I should really update my homepage, shouldn't I? At least the calendar section that I know my family looks to periodically. ;)

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next