Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Devil cookies and blood
2002-01-30 - 2:01 p.m.

Yesterday I brought in all the extra gingerbread cookies from Satuday to feed to my coworkers so I wasn't tempted to finish them off. This plan worked out fabulously as I came with a full container and left with and empty one. Excellent. One of my co-workers asked if I was bringing in more next week, another one kidded me about becoming "domestic", I simply laughed at both concepts, thinking eventually Wendy would throw me out of her kitchen and the more cookies I made, the more dough I'd eat. Unfortunately, it appears that my wonderful boss decided to bring in cookies as well. An old roomie of hers complained that she never makes him cookies anymore so she kindly made a double batch, one for work and one for him. Evil. She puts something special in those cookies, I know she does. Crack? Magic? Some other kind of addictive substance? Perhaps they are just cookies from the devil, Satan's baking up cookies to take our souls to hell, I just know it. Best chocolate chip cookies I've had in a long time. damn!

Happy Birthday to Bera!
Happy Birthday to Bera!
Happy Birthday to my-most-wonderful-ex-roomie-best-friend-I-miss-her-so-much!
Happy Birthday to Tracie!

I woke up this morning and decided to try something new to my hair. Not drastic, just a different method of getting it out of the way. I think it looks really cute personally, especially since I took the time to redo my first try which was horrible. It is often so much easier to do someone else's hair than your own. Just in a silly kind of mood, that's all. Tonight is chiropractor, load the truck with stuff to give back to folks, and filing at Wendy's, but really I'm just there for the food. And if I stay long enough, I'll get a present when Roland gets back from fighter practice. But really it's all about "Take your Shit back" tonight, wheedling down the pile of stuff that we have, but is not ours, slowly... Or course Sir Christian lets me know that he's skipping UofA this weekend so don't bother bringing the big table down to him. Eh, maybe he'll never get it back and it'll go into storage never to be seen again! Muwwhahahahahha! Or, I'll hope he comes up to Ponte Alto event and pass it off to him there. Actually this works out to the best because I don't feel like cleaning off all the stuff I have piled on his table right now. :(

Also, I got a call from my aunt this morning! She and Uncle Pete are in NW DC while he is at a business function and she's poking around the city. It would really be a pity to not see them while they are so close, but tonight and tomorrow night are booked. So we will have an evening of fine dining with them on Friday night before we leave town to head to Richmond for the night. Let's see, Timpano's is on a major road, easy to find, and take reservations. Alan can have martinis and I can drive. Luckily they are planning on making it to my wedding in June, and we hope to make it to their 15th Anniversary party two weekends after the wedding as a party, family get together and mini-vacation. yay!

I had a blood reference, but for the life of me I can't remember what it was. Perhaps it'll come to me.

So, I didn't get much wedding stuff done last night, instead I condensed the list of stuff we need to do to the house to make it more managable. Instead of taking it on a room by room basis, I'll take it on a project by project basis. Removing stuff, repairing stuff, repainting stuff, and that sort of thing. Because the shoe molding in the livingroom and hall uses similar tools to the ones for repairing the bit of hardwood floor in the den closet. Painting in the bathroom and the upstairs stairwell is the same paint, as is the kitchen and livingroom the same white, not shiney but not matte either. It was a huge list of lists. It's amazing and yet all fits on one page and not as daunting as when it was spread out over three pages on a room by room basis, redundant. Of course my favorite category is the buying stuff to make it look better, like new Bathroom accessories and such. Shopping! Unfortunately, that will have to wait to almost the end.

I have a meeting with our new (as of Nov.) big boss Rob coming up in a few minutes when he gets done with the CIO. Hope to not look like too much of a slacker.

And no Theo, I don't trust you to store fabric for me, you make fabric dissappear to easily... Of course you actually make it into stuff instead of just keeping it captive on shelves to pet it, but still, it dissappears never to be seen as yards again...

They have replaced the only permanent art I liked around here, except for the Japanese on the 3rd floor, with some weird black and white charcoal or sketches that I just don't like at all. Why, oh why, does the art department here at the Marriot seem to have the worst taste in "art".

Then again, a coworker of mine showed me this nice matted print he has of three Pre-Raphaelite prints, I think Waterhouse or Leighton, in his cube. Of course he was trying to taunt me with them and I just turned up my nose and said that I prefer real medieval and renaissance art. Of course, I do like the pre-Raphealite and Art Nouveau style and art for art sake, but sometimes the purist in me gets my hackels up about the victorian concept of medieval and renaissance clothing and when folks use it as inspiration, etc.. well... I like it, I really do, just the way it gets abused often irritates me. And, well, it did make said co-worker quit bugging and trying to taunt me. ;)

Bad art, great cookies, busy schedule, wonderful life. What's the curse about living in interesting times?

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next