Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

a tale of misguided pilgrims
2001-10-23 - 4:59 p.m.

Just finished a very long IM conversation about the world and everything with BdeB. He signed off with "take care, sweetheart, distant lover, fair friend" I probably shouldn't share that, but I had too. Bryce, sometimes you absolutely enfuriate me, and I shake my head, and sometimes your wisdom is boudless and all the times no matter what, I can't help but adore you. Friends, they are so important.

So, thanks to Theo's prompting, I was one with the comfy chair last night. I was a comfy chair-potato, and I loved it. I ate pistachios, watched a really big hairy spider crawl across the floor, had my shoulders and neck rubbed by my sweetie, and watched too many hours of TV. I meant to vacuum and cut out something for me, and such, but instead I was a potato, I vegged, lay like broccoli...


This weekend had at least an 80% fun ratio. It was a good one. There were some down times, but that always happens.

Friday night I get off of work, run by the chiropractor, and the grocery store and the booze store to get supplies for this weekend. I get home a little before 7:30 in time to see Alan off to the Trayned Bandes skirmish event this weekend, get a smooch and get to work. I tidy up the place a bit, swift the floors, wipe down the bathroom sink in time for my guests to arrive. Mike and Kirsten and Max the adorable De La Flamme puppy. Theo has offered to make us dinner, and as much as I may pick on her cooking style (ie: she really gets into her medium), I never turn down a Wendy-meal. The food is just too good. We chill a little, unload for them, have a cider and then head on over there. The leather seats in the backseat of Roland's car are too slippery for poor Max, but we put a towel under her to protect them from doggie claws. It was quite entertaining. The roast was faboo and the company was excellent. I think poor Genevieve-the-cook felt a little out of place, but we tried to help her feel comfy. Kirsten and I sewed a bit during the post dessert and truck loading sitting time until Wen rightfully kicked us out and we went back to my place to do the final touches and crash in bed around 1:30am. yet another in a string of late nights, but the sewing was done, yay.

I set my alarm for 7am, I swear. So, 8:30 and I finally drag my butt out of bed and we get started on breakfast and packing and such. Mind you I had hoped to leave by 9:30 in order to be at the event by 10. So, long story short, we left at 10:15am, and then I had to stop for gas since Pepe was on fumes.... yikes.

Oh, somewhere in here I decided on a name for Roland's car and the name was Pepe, because his car is peppy. Silly, I know, but this is what happens when you don't already have a name for your vehicle you get stuck with Pepe or Rhett. ;) Now since it reminds Roland of the WB skunk, we have changed his name to Casper; cute, pale, sweet, and um, mischevious, like his owner.

So, we get to the site about 10 til 11am, and the fighting was supposed to start at 11am. Luckily it was a laid back event and I think fighting eventually got started around noon, but it must have been after that since some slackers didn't arrive until around 2pm and he still got to fight some in the scenarios. When we arrived on site the tents were all set up for us, oh blissful laziness, we didn't have to put up or take down a tent all weekend. There was a bit of grumpiness in the morning, not shocking, and then some excitement over the finished Queen tunic which made those shire members who had a chance to notice really happy, and then a lovely decorated hall, tent, field, everything. All the little details really paid off for this event. It was stupendous. The Shire worked their collective "tales" off to make it look cool.

I blame Badouin. He started with the football references. Eventually during the explanation of the scenarios, they used football references and it went from there. So since the fighters took a break we determined the half time, we decided they needed a half time show. So, Queen, Countess, Padraiga, Lucia and I all went out to go cheer, thanks to help from Gyrth. MenG even did Spirit fingers...
We like God, yes we do!
We like God, how 'bout you?!

That's alright, that's okay
You're all heathens anyway!


the boys thought we were goobers, but they started the football references and the Queen wanted to inspire her troops since the Crusaders were not succeeding this time. We had fun. :)

There was also this great pilgrim badge game where the saints would ask you a question and if you answered it, then you got a shiney bit. Well, they don't liken me to a ferret Ohhhh! Shiney! for nothing... I was begging borrowing and stealing to get as many shiney bits as possible. And yet I didn't get a spike like Lisette did for convincing the autocrat that I was the best Gen I could be... cheater... but I still won in the end. Althought Mary-Grace's way of figuring out Gyrth's question on the origin of the word "pavan" and her wonderful Peacock display afterwards was just faboo. tee hee hee. I think a good time was had by all.

Court was good but blissfully short, I made Kadlin and Aradd stand and the rest of us got to sit it out. Momma didn't raise no fool! Theo got a Herring for a very well run event, which she very much deserved. Failenn got a Silver Nautilus which was very cool since she has done many groovy art things for the event including carving up four molds for casting as a first time caster. (I smell TI cover from the banner scene...) And Roland got his Pearl, which is something that is overdue and way cool!!! yay! Feast was fun and good and yummy and a little weird, but proper period food is. The eggy stuff was devine and the period gingerbread was also bigtime nummy... Corby left early after feast to attend to the poor Max who was tied up in the backyard for the day, and he wanted to go pay attention to her. Thjora and I stayed longer to help with clean up what we could and helped in the kitchen, and I swept and wiped and restocked the ladies room, and then when there was nothing we could do, we went home, tired and satissfied in having fun. Lately I've been too tired or busy at the end of an event to help out in the kitchen or hall clean up, etc. I was glad to have had such a relaxing day to still have energy at night. We drove the Mel home, and then went back to my place to crash hard. Incidentally, I completely missed poor Scarlett's Theo induced panic attack. Funny story though.

Sunday was a lazy sunday morning of newspaper, fresh bagels and a poppy seed muffin for me, and just being a bum. Thjora slept in until 8:45, which has got to be a record, and Corby until 10 or so. Played with Max and all around had a great time. Wendy and crew came to off load Scarlett and stuff and there was the great putting away and sorting thru the ropes and stakes, etc. Since we all buy from panther all our ropes, stakes and bags all look the same. sigh. but we figured it out eventually. These ropes are a different color from the rest and these sliders are a slightly different hue than the others that go with the ones that mostly have green tape on them... sigh

Afterwards Roland, Theo, Kymber and I went out to eat at Harry's and had much crabby goodness, and then went back to my house to beach on the comfy furniture and chat until we decided it was time to head over to Dave and Buster's for Kevin's party. Kymber, reunited with Big Red, made her way home to immerse herself in laundry, Rob and Wen went home to change clothes and to slim down to one vehicle and I took a quick shower and Alan came home and Rob and Wen picked me up and took me to D&B's and we sat and had a great time and ate, ohh the desserts are good, chocolate silk pie, and Alan arrived after he showered, and then came the games. I so killed Kevin on the driving game all three times, and was one of the low scorers for the big shootemupaliens game, and played on waterskis and House of the Dead and Skeeball and coin games and just had a great time. Glad I had such a great idea to go there. Kevin doesn't love me, no credit for the good idea... ;)

and now I am back on track to work on projects tonight... something for me for Crown, and maybe James's G63 while I'm at it.

Oh, and on Sat I got to meet two new nice fellas. Joe is a swell guy and looked good in Ragnar clothes to boot. Also I got to meet Matt, Kymber's friend who has the kindness to bale me out when I have bad directions. We called him at 3am on our trip to Ohio when we forgot directions and the map would only take us so far and we called him when I forgot my Gulf Wars booklet and the exit number for the campground. opps. Matt, my hero. Maybe I should just get his number directly and skip a step...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next