Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

moving right along, footloose and fancy free...
2001-09-18 - 2:52 p.m.

Last night was the couch moving saga. It actually went fairly well, considering the smallness of the house. Alan gave me insight when we were talking to my folks about taking on more furniture from them. He said that our house takes up a 20x30 footprint. That's for the first level and unfinished basement, and like half that for the second level. 20x30, that's the size of Havorc and MenG's pavilion. Now, on the fields at Pennsic, 20x30 is nice and spacious. For living in and storing all of our crap, and we have plenty, trust me, that's way too small. So, our house is tiny, go fig. This is why all parties use all the rooms in the house, not everyone can comforatbly fit in one room. sigh.

So, I rush home to see a tired Rob slumping in the wingback chair. I think he had had a hard day at work. poor Rob. After getting the hint that he was too tired to rush off to practice after moving couchs (gee, what gave it away, the dress clothes and drooping eyelids?), I got everyone a cider, and Alan a beer and we chilled for half an hour before we got motivated to move. Then the boys went in to assess the couch moving situation. After trying to pick it up and take it out of the room, I remembered that to get Old Blue in that room, Kevin and Alan ended up putting the couch on it's end, sticking straight up to elbow it into the room. It barely fit in the door frame. But after I reminded the boys of this, it proved a useful technique for old couch extraction. They took it out to the garage and set it down beside the new one.

Of course, as soon as they were out the front door, I ran out the side door with a tape measure struck by something. The new couch was longer than the old couch. Hmmm, this was going to make the previous technique not exactly work as the new couch is taller than the door frames. hmmm.... It is a little less sitting down hieght wise, but just about the same width wise. So, after using the same technique only angling the couch to get it length-wise through the three doors, it finally rested in the back study room. Yay! Our conquering heroes! Couch extraction and replacement finished, Wendy and I got to test the nice seat of the new couch. Ah, leather... nice rich reddish-brown, pebble surface, high grade... small scratch on the back, but it is the back, so no worries. Who could have ever conceived back in my hippie high school days that I would populate my abode with leather furniture? But it is better for folks with allergies, really! That's my excuse, and I'm sticking to it.

Wendy says I have a leather fetish. I beg to differ. If I had a leather fetish, then I would have whips and collars and a leather bustier, etc. I do not have a leather fetish, I simply like the feel and smell of leather furniture. Please let her know these are very different aspects.

Dictionary.com says:
fet�ish
n.

  1. An object that is believed to have magical or spiritual powers, especially such an object associated with animistic or shamanistic religious practices.
  2. An object of unreasonably excessive attention or reverence: made a fetish of punctuality.
  3. Something, such as a material object or a nonsexual part of the body, that arouses sexual desire and may become necessary for sexual gratification.
  4. An abnormally obsessive preoccupation or attachment; a fixation.

I repeat, I do not have a leather fetish.

So, afterwards, I took everyone out to dinner at Harry's. Actually Wendy drove, but I bought, paying for the labor and all that don't ya know. And a bit better than pizza and beer. Yes, our waitress was wound a little to tight. She was perky beyond belief, I wonder how her head stayed attached with all the bobbing it did. And this is alot coming from me, mind you. She was special. Alan was wondering if she was related to our waitress from Sunday night. Eh, he was happy to get his beer. However when she brought out the dessert tray, she was pointing to what they still had and said "We don't have anymore of this, which was gross anyway..." yikes. Luckily she did not deminish the joy and pleasure of my peanut butter and chocolate slice of pie.

After moving and dinner, Wendy dropped us off at home and Alan went almost directly to bed, and I proceeded to cut out and work on QPM's new special sideless. I got the blue cut out and assembled all but the sides, and the white as well. I'm trying to make the white out of two pieces, which is proving a little interesting at the gore area. I think for mine I will have the white part be seperate at the gore area, but then again, mine won't scoop so deep at the sides. I really like this cool diamond pattern. Wish I had gotten more of it for myself at Pennsic. Oh well. I got in bed by midnight and have plans to work on it more tonight. I also think I really need to vacuum. It's a good thing we don't have outside-of-aquarium pets, because I hate to vacuum. Must vacuum, ick.

So, pirates are all the rage... how many will dress as a pirate this Halloween? Say my name, say my name...
Black Jenny Kidd
shocking
Like anyone confronted with the harshness of robbery on the high seas, you can be pessimistic at times. Even though you're not always the traditional swaggering gallant, your steadiness and planning make you a fine, reliable pirate. Arr!
Well, that's enough of that.

So, list of stuff I need to accomplish:

Hmm..... outlook not good...

So, even though Celynen posted this link, I have to do so as well. These pictures are sad and inspiring at the same time. It shows that we are not alone in our grief, nor in our resolve to stamp out terrorism. Whoever did this, beware. The last I heard, people from 63 countries were killed in the attack on the World Trade Center. If the goal was to piss off the world, I think it was achieved.

I finally finished the second Harry Potter book on CD, and luckily when I returned them to Wendy last night, she happened to have Book Three in the Tahoe for me to abscond with. I already started it for my morning commute, tired of the relentless talk on radio morning shows... Yay, Harry Potter.

Oh, to see examples of some Old Hickory Tannery furniture, click here. None of the pieces that we currently house are here, but that is fine. I wish I could find the website that they used to have up and running... pitiful as it was... They only sell through distributors anyway... like Niemann Marcus. :)

Last, but most certainly not least, a friend of mine who has not been happy for some time has finally found a bit of peace and joy. I was so happy to hear this I cried. sniff sniff...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next