Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Plays-with-Nieces
2001-09-17 - 5:36 p.m.

I am so happy that despite the week of sadness, I had a great weekend. Friday I drove our teleworker to the airport, since his flight was still on and he really wanted to get back to the country, wife and kids. I was astonished and yet comforted by the line of police cars, two abreast at the passenger drop of area, protecting BWI to the best of their ability. Then I went to the chiropractor to get adjusted and chatted with the receptionist there. She and her husband, a master plumber, run their own business. Apparently they had just completed the remodeling job in that wing of the Pentagon for all the floors of plumbing the bathrooms and such. Their small business has already offered that, when it comes time to reconstruct, they are still under contract and will only charge the Pentagon for the parts, not for the labor. They figure they can write that off on their taxes later. Even when they write it off, it won't be near enough to equal if they had gotten reimbursed for the labor. What a kind selfless patriotic act. I like Sandy for many reasons, and that she is one of the most kind hearted folks I've met outside the SCA is one of those reasons.

Also, I have seen Old Glory hanging on all the overpassed I drive under. I guess my reaction is completely different from others though. Instead of crying at seeing the American flag I am inspired, it raises my spirits like I couldn't have ever imagined. I hope those flags stay there until they are battered and torn, and then they are replaced and stay there even longer. It makes me smile, when I see this seemingly small gesture that shows that most Americans are pulling together.

So, Alan and I leave after rush hour and stop for a hotel room in Burlington, NC, to continue to Conover in the morning. We arrive around 11am, and the rest of the time was pure familial bliss. We hung out and readied for the Baptism, and fed and young one and played with the 2yo, and had a blast. I even convinced my parents to watch the grandchildren so that we could take Jodi and Clint out for a nice dinner and time away from screaming, even if relatively good natured children. My new Indian name is Plays-with-Nieces, or Doesn't-change-diapers, which ever works. I was a little impressed with my multi-tasking skills however. On sunday we went to the IHOP and of course the baby wanted to be fed and held and burped and all that baby stuff right before the food came. Since big sis and big bro-in-law were a bit busy with the fussy 2yo who needed food and a nap in a big way, I got to feed and burp and hold and snuggle my dear niece. And when my food came I showed great skill for holding the baby and bottle in one arm and feeding myself with the other hand. Yay me! Of course I hadn't ordered the porkchop like Clint did, so I could eat one handed. This does not change my resolve to not spawn, it just makes a little more confident of an aunt. For the most part I'm really not that good. I can't wait til they are at the eating ice cream and taking shopping and to parks stage in their lives. I also want them to be able to communicate in real english, er, american, first. I'm really no good at deciphering toddler speak. Just as Katie or Wayne.

After IHOP, Alan and I got on the road and swung by GSO to grab the nice brown comfy leather couch, which Rob will help us with tonight. Alan will take Old Blue down to Bob and Laura's place in Oct. for the skirmishing. They could use a not completely decrepit sleeper sofa. Poor Roland always ends up moving our sleeper sofas, whether it is the hideous 70's one to my co-workers apt. or now Blue. Mom and dad also tried in vain to pawn other furniture and such on us to take home. "No, Mom we don't have a need for another comforter, or any wallspace for your art, or anything else, really!" We did take back a big bag of white wedding pew bows and the like that I have already handed off to my sweet co-worker Courtnay for her wedding on Dec. 28th. She was even grateful. The bows are in nice condition, but I don't plan on using bows at mine, whenever I get around to planning a wedding. sigh. Maybe I could get them back from Courtnay when she is done with them and pass them off to Tonwen for May. **plot plot plot**

After retrieving couch and bows, and hugging the parents, we got back on the road to Burlington so Alan could pick up cigars at the JR outlet. I was wise and did not go inside but gassed up the truck, called Mike and Kirsten and kept an eye on the couch. If I had gone inside there might have been more purchases and I don't need that in my world, really. Then we wisked to Richmond for dinner with M&K, and I got the embroidery done on one of my seams of my viking apron. I also learned that I won't have enough to do all four seams, but will have enough for two and will do the others as time allows in cream and then do some decorative herring bone stitch in cream to make it all work and look good. Thjora was so proud when I showed her. yay me! Alan and I got home before 11pm and unloaded the couch into the garage, and crashed in bed.

yikes, look at the time, off to go move furniture...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next