Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Monkeys, Lemurs, Welcome to D'land and what to wear...
2001-08-30 - 3:14 p.m.

I'm a little bummed. I have filled up my friends on my buddy list. No more will fit. I actually had to cut two folks to make it all work. Do you get more slots for buddies with the Gold Membership? So, we must welcome to this wonderful Diaryland a few new friends:

And that's pretty much it for the SCA Diarylander newbies for the moment. :)

Also of note today, Wendy posted the Monkeys on my Windshield Story to her diary. I swear I have read this several times and still snort and giggle each new time I read it.
Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield Monkey on my Windshield
Okay, I think I got it out of my system, whew.

Today is the first day of classes for Loki U. Luckily since we deal with online classes, and folks get access to their online classes a week before the official start date, we don't have too many folks waiting until the first day. So today is relatively low drag. Relatively. Of course, two of the five of us are out sick today. I hope they heal 'cause I am leaving early tomorrow. I have to. No way I'm waiting until after rush hour traffic to make my way down to Charlotte NC. So, I hope they feel much better tomorrow and don't skip work again. That would really suck for my boss, and the one remaining guy who's not sick yet, but his wife and children have the plague. Outlook not good... But hopefully our students will hold off on their issues until monday.

Of course our students are like that, two types. The first type is very over excited, and wants access to their online classes a month before they start. This type we label as the Overachievers. Maybe they want to get the work done for their classes before they even begin so they can goof off the rest of the semester. The other type waits until two weeks after classes have started and then asks us about their classes, only to find out that they have a finance office hold or were disenrolled (which isn't a real word the spell checker likes to remind me, but that's the term this institute of higher learning uses for a student who has been taken out of a class, but not withdrawn themselves). These folks are called Slackers and are the ones who think that they can catch up at the end of the class, forgetting things like assignments and deadlines, etc. So, we get a slew of calls three weeks before the start of classes, which is good to fix problems before they impact a class, and we get a bunch of calls the week or two after classes have begun. Such is the game. Of course it is kinda neat to see how having a crappy registration system and non-communicative student services staff can really make an online student's life hell. If the registration system screws up for a face to face class, you can still go and participate in the class while the Student Services folks fix the problem in the registration computer or Financial Aide works its kinks out. You can't do that in the online setting. If something screws up in the registration system, we have worked really hard to make sure that the two systems communicate well, which means when it happens in one system, it happens in the other. This means you can't get into your online class until the guys in registration or financial aide or whoever get their act straight. It's a little frustrating having to tell folks that there is nothing we can do. sigh. yay, go support. Sorry for the boring insight into my fascinating job.

-Note to self: Shane is a stuffed animal molesting TARD!!! Stay away from my beanie baby collection! I mean it, pain comes next, and not the good pain either.

So last night I realized while cutting out the letters for the Bethany Blanket and watching Farscape, that the living ship's name is Moya, but it sounds like Moira, I swear. It's a good show especially because of the blue lady and the other freaky characters. The SciFi Channel is starting this series over from the begining M-Th nights at 8pm. I missed monday and will likely miss tonight due to packing, dinner and LC. Perhaps I should learn how to program the VCR. Maybe I should ask Alan to learn and then teach me. Ah, I'm so lazy.

Last night I put Animal Planet on the TV for background noise, not being a fan of SciFi's Outerlimits, and there was the Croc Hunter finding the ten most venomous snakes in the world, who happen to live in Australia, and the Jeff Corwin Experince in Madagascar. Everyone loves Lemurs! Except those who have never heard of a lemur. I swear, some of my co-workers must eat, sleep and breath in front of a computer. Not know what a lemur is, it's disgraceful.

~~~~~

So, having just returned from the little girls room, it reminded me of reading in a magazine in a Dr's office a while ago a letter to the editor from some girl who was self conscious about peeing in a public restroom, and that it was too loud. Now what do you think is going to be happening in the bathroom, of course folks are gonna pee, it's why they are there. Not just for mirrors to check your face and hair. sigh. Anyway, the editor suggested that Ms. Selfconscious put some toilet paper in the poop pot first before she begins her business to dull the sound of her transaction. Sigh. Seems like a reasonable response. Well someone wrote back to the editor all fired up that they were promoting the waste of excess toilet paper, killing more trees, adding to the human waste, etc. So, my questions are these: Who is self conscious in a restroom anyways? Girls get their own little stall for god's sakes. And who upon reading this little editor's note in some insipid girls mag like Cosmo or Teen gets all upset because they advocate using a little more toilet paper to sooth Ms. Jumpy's nerves? sigh. some folks are just wound too tight.

enough rambling

So, you guys get the once in a lifetime opportunity to decide what I am going to wear to the event this weekend. My possible outfits are:

So, post in my guestbook what you think I should wear to the Sacred Stone event on Sat. I might even listen to you guys.
... mumble mumble... I could have sworn I had more clothes to choose from.... hmmmmmmm...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next