Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

fun fun fun labor day weekend!
2001-09-05 - 5:10 p.m.

Fuckety fuck fuck fuck fuck fuck!!!

Sorry, I just had a long entry typed up and hit a link which wiped it all out. argh.


True to form, I started this entry at 3:20pm, and got distracted by AIM, Ursus's cool website and actual work stuff. sigh. Either I face many distractions in my world, or I have the attention span of a ferret. If it was just work then I wouldn't do shit like wipe out my lovely entry about my fabulous weekend. :(


This was one of the best weekends I've had in a long time, excepting that my sweetie wasn't there. Friday I left work early for the long drive down to Charlotte, NC. Thanks to the loan from Wen, I got through 6 hours of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone. I just wish I could read fast enough to actually read the books instead of just listening to them. I got to the house around 10:30 and Chris, Bera, Drea, Courtney and I stayed up chatting for several hours, or until roughly 3am. I vaugely remember Chris saying something about Dominica arriving in the morning and using her as an alarm clock. She was a great alarm clock as it turns out, only ten minutes late, which of course we were all sounds asleep, no one was stirring, not even the cats. She was kind and patient with us as we putzed around, dallying and dragging our feet. We finally made it out the door a little before noon.

We pile into my Scarlet, wanting to show it off, and being a control freak and wanting to drive, we stopped at a gas station to fill up (shamefully in garb) and get drinks and get on the road. I put Bera in charge of music and she grabs up the "Too Wong Foo" soundtrack and head on down the road to the site bebopping to the bulldyke/diva music. It brings back memories of long road trips with the Bera to events far and whide. sniff sniff... We deterimine that I am the whitest of the white girls in the car. First of all Bera, Dominica and Drea to an extent have soul. I went through the fishnet wearing hairdying phase of my life which means I have no soul, but can pretend occasionally. At least car dancing doesn't give me too much away. We were having such a good time that I blew past our exit and had to turn around and catch it the other way. That's the story girls, okay?!?

We arrive on site and check in just in time for Bera to get invited to the Queen and Baroness's luncheon, and I weasel a seat and we proceed to make merry. yay. The food was awesome, not finger food either, they have a full place setting for each (Bera and I shared) and we used real silverware and everything. Very befitting of Her Maj's style anyway. Afterwards, stuffed to the gills, we sally forth to go find a place to sit, digest, sew and chat. We set up our little folding chairs under the Royal dayshade, we're such mooches, and proceed to sit and stitch and have a great time watching the fighitng periodically, and such. Bera has this cute little habit of knowing all of the local dogs on site, and then eventually pawsing to give a hello to the owners and introduce herself. They all know her, and after a little while don't seem to get too insulted by the greeting the puppies get first. It's very cute. Reminds me of the lady who got called into court at her Crown Tournament and brought her pomeranians that Bera immediately dived for. She's got a weakness there, I tell you.

Court was amusing. At least I hope we were amusing. We sat in the front row, and all acted like Tweak from Southpark, the kid with ADD who sits and twitches in place occasionally crying out. We tried to blame our actions on Bera since she was a peer, but to no avail. We were all responsible for our own actions. I hope we weren't too disturbing. Adrianna the Yak Goddess gave me greif something to the effect that when I'm Queen she was gonna sit in the front row and torment me, and I threatened her that I'd make her be behind me. :) -the ultimate threat. She said to talk to Emer, that may be worse. Then again I may never get to be Queen, so maybe it is all a moot point. A couple of great AoA's were given out and Lady Cecily Stafford was inducted into the Pearl, yay. She does nots of neat stuff, really cool, all well done and varied. wow. Then we along with Chris, Dryw, Gwen, Damuth and Briana, all scurried off to the CrackHouse for din din, and A/C, which was nice. It wasn't that hot, but mucking humid. We ate, yummy yum yum. Then we headed back to the site to party some. We got to sit in the Royal cabin and listen to singing and tatoo talk with Duncan, and Mary-Grace's song about her reign that she made up in the car down to Wastelands. Then we headed off to the Bardic Circle and sang and sang until the wee hours, and watched Drea and Kilmeny dance to drums by the fire, and chatted and all sorts of fun stuff. I even got a care package from Adrianna of a new VT sticker for my new truck, and a VT alum t-shirt since my only other VT shirt got stolen with a load of my laundry while I was still there. Yay for the Yak! We eventually made our way back to the house, and crashed after 1am, again.

We slept late, we watched the Emporer's New Groove, we sat around BS'ing, and finally Bera, Chris and I went out to lunch around 3 and had a great time. We ate at this wonderful place called the Atlanta Bread Company, which makes yummy looking sandwiches, and a great Chicken Ceasar Salad. The desserts didn't suck either, Bad Gen! I miss my Bera and Chirs so much. The short time wasn't nearly enough. Then it was on the road to go visit the sister and nieces! yay! I got to listen to the last hour of the Sorcerer's Stone on the way up. I walked into the house with an big bag of gifts for the nieces, because that's what aunts do. I found the cutest matching outfits for the girls, in their respective sizes, with purple and butterflys and matching pairs of jeans and everything. Too cute for words. And I got a noisy toy, that was pleasant noise, Baby Einstein stuff, and stuffed animals for the two of them and the Baby Bethany blankie. Bethany is cute as can be. While Trin is blonde haired and blue eyed like my sister, Nini has brown hair and dark blueish green eyes and looks a lot like Clint. I must find a way to keep my sister from calling the baby "Snoogins". Really not appropriate thanks to Jay and Silent Bob. I prefer to call her squirt, Nini, or pipsqueak. Or my favorite niece with brown hair under the age of one! whatever. she's a good baby and I got to feed and burp her, but managed to avoid the diaper change. While they are really cute, I am resolved not to spawn myself. yikes.

I stayed with them until Monday afternoon, and then got on the road to Greensboro. I stopped by the famly homestead, walked around getting all sniffly, and then promptly stole the nice mahogany leather wingback chair to "store" at our place. I got it out of the house and into the truck all by myself without a single scratch. It is sitting nicely beside the front door in our living room, and ir quite comfy. Amazingly the red leather matches the red flecks in the carpet nicely. I left a note for my parents, moved another chair to where the wingback had been so the house looked nice for showing, and even vacuumed up the chair leg divits. Then I headed up to Richmond for a quick stop for dinner and chatting with Kirsten, to finally drag home around midnight. Yet another late night.

It sounds like a lot of running around, but I had a blast, I really did. I got through all of book one of Harry Potter and half way through book two. I almost wish I had a longer commute so I could listen to it in long stretches. not badly enough though. :)

gotta run get cracked!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next