Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

It's been two weeks since I updated...
2005-09-22 - 4:04 p.m.

Again, I am the slackinator of updating. 

So, when last we left off, I had returned from the Coronation and Family weekend and was ramping up for the MoD (Masters of Defense.)  I made a batch of gingerbread cookies (that I know at least one lady ate and enjoyed) and a batch of my sandbakkel cookies, some filled with jam to be more tart-like, but I don't think they held up too well under the sun.  Lots of cookies, lots of uncharacteristic baking time for me, but it was fun and for a good cause.

I had all sorts of plans for assisting with the bake sale, being social, helping with the charity tournament, and playing hostess under our tent.  Instead, after setting up the tent, getting dressed, attending to her Triple-excellency's hair, I again found myself at the MOL table working the MoD Tournament.  Deja vu.  Certainly having run it last year and a quick mind-meld with the marshal in charge helped me be prepared.  So again we had at least 33 fighters on the field, and at times even had the numbers to have all four fields going.  Notes for next year, if this is done next year, the waterbearers need to be on the side of the field instead of in the center like the MOLs.  First of all, water and paper do not mix well.  Second of all, it meant that all the under age ladies who wanted to help out waterbearing couldn't technically step on the field to refill their own bottles.  Certainly didn't help that the poor lead waterbearer twisted her ankle as she was loading the equipment that morning.  I felt so bad for her.  I also heard some complaints that not all of everyone's wins were recorded.  Well, the MOLs only write down what we are told.  If your opponent did not report your wins, that can't be helped by me behind a table.  I watched many fights and caught a bunch of the non-reported wins, but I only have two eyes hooked up to one brain. But all in all it seemed to run well.  The semis were between Galmr and Roland and Colin and Corby.  Finals were between Galmr and Corby, where Corby was victorious.  That was kinda cool since even though he used to do lots of fencing back when he was in school, he just re-authorized epee and schlager at Assessments in July of this year.  It's all about playing the game right.  All in all I think it is a fine tourney style, and definitely encouraged cross-over.  Tara and Alan ended up running the charity tournament, which did well and folks seemed to have a really good time with. 

Afterwards we broke down and loaded our tent and stuff into the truck.  (We managed to get rid of some old garb, a picnic basket, a table, a helm and a sword, which was great, and we tossed any donations for that stuff into the pot to go to Lowe's.)  Then we helped Kynny load some of his stuff into his van.  Then I noticed that part of the tourney fence was still up, so I helped take that down, and stack the pieces with the others.  Then we helped Aelfgar with some deconstruction and loading of pavilion parts into his truck and all sorts of other breakdown tasks.  Breakdown was a bit trying since Reynard had to leave in the middle of the day and he keeps the power tools in his truck that went with him.  Made it more difficult and longer, but not insurmountable.  Finally when everything that could be loaded was, and the tourney fence was all stacked and such, we headed out of there around 7:45 (Poor Bob missed all of feast {and quality dinner time with his sweetheart} in order to break the field down since Lochmere had to be off site that night) and ordered a pizza while we were en-route.  We changed out of garb, ate pizza, and watched something in the basement before crashing hard.  I'm very glad that the rust from tent stakes came out of my chemise sleeves...

Sunday was a demo at the Takoma Park Folk Festival.  Most of the booths seemed to be religious or political in agenda, but we were more hobby/entertainment.  I made sure to pack everything in a rolling suitcase so if I had to park far away (and I did) then I could easily haul everything there.  We got to listen to fine music on the stage near us.  I enjoyed Thai food for lunch.  I got to show off some of my string related projects, as well as set-up my Miguel loom with another sprang project.  Apparently Grainne was bitter that I get the middle of my sprang projects to tightly packed and I told her it was all patience and picking it with a stick.  I should eventually take some pictures and upload them of the sprang goodness.  I think I truly appreciate the instant gratification aspect of this art. 
No spending hours warping a loom and then more hours weaving a project. 
No meticulous counting of stitches and dropping them while not paying attention to the knitting. 
No being tied to one place for an hour for fingerloop braiding. 
3 hours, start to finish, warp the loom, twist the threads, bind off the pouch, hootie hoo, done!  And you can stop in the middle, really, I can stop any time... 
So, I warped up and made another sprang pouch that I gave to Bess, which was also a great demo piece to show to kids and adults alike and kept my hands busy.  After 6 hours at the demo, even with the fine folks, I was tapped out.  Cleaned up in a snap, rolled my stuff back to the car and went out to Indian food with the Hun-e-B, Grainne and Ynes, which was tasty and fun to boot. 

But then the tapped out feeling set in seriously.  I was peopled-out, and that takes quite a lot being the social creature that I am. 
Monday was laundry and recovery.  Tuesday I meant to go to the Roxbury Meeting, but even the lure of precious pink poodle Pookie time could not lure me from my comfy chair.  The entire following week I didn't have it in me to deal with people.  Heck, I took Wednesday off since I wasn't feeling well and I didn't want to see another human other than my Alan.  Thurs I revived some for practice, and actually singing was a big help, but Alan and I decided that we'd not do any SCA event that coming weekend. 

So, Friday night we brought Outback takeaway to the Roland and Theo since they agreed to take a small present to Cat for her prize at the Chalice event. 
Saturday I got to sleep in, oh glorious sleeping in until 10am, when my sweetie awakened me with the crisp sound of a freshly opened Diet Coke.  Then we got inspired to clean some in the bedroom, take the regalia items from Coronation to Royal Storage, went by IKEA to look at pots for the patio, and also found a small glass front cabinet for storing glassware in the bar in the AS-IS section.  We came home, installed IKEA items, had a good time, had a nap, ordered sushi and watched Gone in 60 Seconds down in the basement.  After Alan crashed in bed I stayed up and had a wild hair about re-organizing our bedroom closet, and looked up stuff from IKEA (and then priced it! yipe!) but came away with a kernel of a good idea. 
Sunday saw us having more planning, and heading off west to a Michael's to drop off the lovely Sienese fresco print for framing, then to Pier 1 to look at possible night stands, and then to the Container Store.  Ohh... the Container Store has their shelving (including closet basics) 25% off.  Can you say storage heaven?  So we got the goods to do half of our closet (figuring that if we liked it, then we could do the other half before 10/23 and still get the discount.  And it is good.  We have way more usable space, and in the process of taking everything out and putting it back, weeded out quite a bit of older/smaller stuff.  I'm thinking of looking into doing the other half this Sunday.  After we installed the new half-a-closet, I got to put my stuff back just in time to head off to the Storvik business meeting.  It was nice to see folks, but the less said about business meetings, the less bored we'll be.  The best thing to come out of the meeting was that I have a replacement and as on Oct. 1st, I won't have seneschal duties, acting or otherwise, anymore. 

Monday was shoe shopping to kill time before the 7pm practice, where I found two lovely pairs of shoes at the local Rack Room.  I know, color me surprised.  But even more surprising is that I then went into Target and came away purchasing nothing.  I looked intently at more shoes, only to be thwarted.  I even tried on some clothes, but left them all with the fitting room staff.  This must be a record, or a bad omen.  I never go into Target and come away empty handed.  Then I set off to practice to sign stuff for Kim and pass off files, and stuff.
To the fighters there, I must apologize.  Aside from chatting with William, I simply sat in my truck and waited til work needed to be done.  I thought of going up and being friendly, but I didn't want to interrupt those putting on armour.  I think I was still suffering some from being peopled out.  I didn't mean to be antisocial, and I think very highly of you all, I just couldn't do much more than sit on my truck and wait til work came to me.  Tuesday was helping Tara with her storage room, and Wednesday was grocery shopping, laundry, and catching up on Rome, as well as seeing the first episode of Weeds on Showtime On Demand.  I have to say, I love, love, love the On Demand.  It is faboo.

This weekend will be more non-sca projects, hopefully completing the closet, maybe some painting. Y'know, fun stuff that doesn't involve funny clothes, unless you think my overalls are funny. 

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next