Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

organization...
2005-09-28 - 4:05 p.m.

So, new design...  Kinda cheesy I know.  Might not last.  I was having problems with my older entries not working, and after not getting a direct response back from D'land support, I just decided that resetting it to a normal template might do the job, which it did.  So then I had to have a new design, but this is what my brain spewed.  I might have to cut the twee later, but in the meantime it just reinforces my deisre for a nap.

This weekend was lovely and low-key.  We spent some time with the Tara setting up her new sitting room in her townhouse.  When we left on Sat night it was all set-up needing only a new lamp and bookshelf.  She gained a bit more storage, organization, and even gave it a new coat of paint, with much help from Terry too.  We then spent more time than was necessary, chatting with her entertaining neighbors.  That was a nice way to wind up the day. 

Sunday Alan and I attacked our closet with new determination.  We had already reorganized half of it, and liking that so much we decided to finish the job.  But this time we took out the already reorganized half so that we could spackle and paint the closet before putting everything back in.  So the old stuff, and the even older stuff is now permanently removed.  The holes in the walls from various other closet installations are patched. There is a fresh coat of the-rest-of-the-house cream colored paint in there (that matched the ceiling so we didn't have to tape off.)  And all our clothes are hung, shoes are tucked nice and neat and organized.  Alan even got a new light fixture on Monday so we installed that too.  Anyone with a bubble facination want a free light fixture?  The new closet is faboo.  It is much easier to find stuff, there is plenty more storage for items like shoes, and now it doesn't burn your eyes if the light is on and you are lying in bed.  That was a very productive Sunday.  Alan even got the lawn mowed, and we watched the latter 3/4 of the Incredibles while waiting for paint to dry.  Now all of the bedroom closets have been organized and optimized.  And the Container Store is a gift from the gods.

I've been playing some with sprang twist patterning with minor amounts of success.  I should eventually take pictures of my various sprang pieces. Eventually. 

Sunday night I caught a show on the extended History Channel (116) called Surviving the Iron Age.  It was very interesting to watch.  I loved the clothes, seeing a warp-weighted loom set-up in the Chief's house ready to weave, seeing all the fun crafts.  The AR part of me was frustrated at their lack of initial organization.  I'm also beginning to wonder if they need to phase folks in on more natural foods when they do these living history survival shows.  Even I found out the hard way that you don't drink lots of milk straight from the animal without pastuerization if you're not used to it.  It tasted really good, but was not good for nature-intolerant me.  When I see these shows I think "That would be fun, I could do that!" and then I am reminded of the fact that nature hates me, and maybe I couldn't.  sigh.

But I do get to try my second attempt at basket weaving this weekend at UofA!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next