Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Pennsic/Katrina Aftermath
2005-09-01 - 12:21 p.m.

For those that have asked, and for those that haven't, my aunt and uncle in New Orleans are safe.  They, along with their little dog Dixie Marie, were already doing business in Houston before Katrina hit, so they wisely just stayed there.  They are staying with other friends and letting family members take over their townhouse in Houston.  According to the satellite maps of the flooded areas, I don't think their house in Jefferson nor the business in Metairie have been affected and underwater, but this is just a guess and wild hope.  Obviously they won't know about wind/rain damage until they can get back home, or my uncle charters a plane to flyover and take pictures.

Here's an image of a map of the business and home over the flooded area satellite image.  Thank goodness for the distinct Mississippi River that helped me line it all up.  It does look like they escaped the flooding.
Flooded New Orleans

They are safe, and being west of New Orleans, there is a good chance the home and business is safe as well.  Of course, I bet business will be booming shortly as they do Marine Surveying.  I also noticed on her page that Beth Patterson heeded the evacuation warnings and is now safe in Lafayette, LA.

It's no secret that I love the city of New Orleans and that my heart breaks for all the destruction, loss of life and ruined worlds of her people.  I wish there was something more I could do. 

For those that have asked, and those that haven't, I'm finally feeling better too.  I caught something at Pennsic (not the strep) and it has plagued me for the past week and a half.  The first round of antibiotics that I was on, I wasn't responding to at all. bleh!  In fact, I actually felt one of the serious side effects; joint/tendon/muscle pain.  double bleh!  The second round of antibiotics have been very good to me, at least in knocking out this cold.  I no longer sound like Kathleen Turner's twin.  I'm not nearly as tired, and my breathing is back to normal.  However, the recovery from the side effects of the 1st round is still proceeding slowly.  All my joints ache.  No, not all, I isolated that my toes and shoulders don't hurt.  My knees, wrists, elbows and ankles are taking the worst of it.  There is not enough ibuprofen in the world, and the Clinoril seems to help some, but certainly not all.  So, those that see me this weekend at Coronation, forgive me if I am a bit slow moving. 

Oh, and my mom came through her cataract surgery fine.  They exchanged her cloudy lens on her left eye with a new artificial lens, much like Lasik, but instead of correcting the lens, they replaced it.  Once she heals in two weeks, they'll do the same proceedure on the right eye.  yay mom!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next