Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

slug
2003-10-24 - 3:43 p.m.

Taking off tonight for another wonderful Elizabethan event down at the farm. I still have not gotten around to finishing the pair of bodies I started in the spring. Oh the shame. I also haven't made any updates to my kit, like a desperately needed new shift and finishing the frogs on my loose gown, except purchasing a fine hat at Pennsic. Correction, Alan purchased a new hat for me at Pennsic. I am starting to feel like a veritible slug. The last thing I finished was the button on the monmouth cap for Coronation, and fixing Nikulai's sleeves. Oh, and the little knit baby cap for the baby shower, but that only took a day and wasn't a project to keep or show off. But I haven't made any new garb since Pennsic, no new weaving projects since finishing the satin hat-band, no new nalbinding, or even finishing my first sock, nothing new. But I do have a list. A nice long list on the whiteboard in the sewing room. Of course avoiding the sewing room does not help me start or finish any of these projects. Or help the list sink in. I guess I can cross N's sleeves off the list now, huh? And this doesn't even count the stripping of the icky wallpaper paste. That wall is still half icky and it has to be stripped and fixed before new pretty paint. see?, slug.

But I did get the P&P hats shined up for next weekend. And I did get 29 more signatures thanks to tackling folks at practices on Monday and Tuesday nights this week.

Speaking of which, I got a funny comment there. Gen, why are you doing this, you already got your Pelican? I know it was meant as a joke, and yet, it really got me thinking.

No one would expect a Knight to quit fighting. No one would expect a Laurel to quit making cool stuff. So why is the previous comment even a thought? Even weirder, it is very contrary to the idea that no one ever claims to want to be a Pelican. Every new fighter steps onto the field wanting to be a knight. Most artisans aspire to mastering their skill and being elevated to the Laurel. I don't think anyone goes into the kitchen to scrub dishes or takes up a job thinking, this gets me one step closer to a Pelican.

So, you aren't allowed to say you want to be a Pelican, but then once you get it, it is assumed that you will stop working because you did it for the award?

So, I know it was meant as a joke. So I guess it is just an awareness factor. Would you tell a Laurel to machine do the hem on a dress? Or do they hand sew the hem because it gives them pleasure and it is the right thing to do? Would you tell a knight to stop practicing? Or are they there because they love the fight? Even if they are passing up the opportunity to trade blows with a buddy in order to teach Joe-Newbie, you wouldn't tell them to stop. So, why would you ever tell someone who perhaps enjoys certain tasks you see as service, or enjoys doing the right thing, to stop?

Or does a knight fight to be a good example and a challenge to others? Does the laurel research to show others how it should and could be done, and to expand the knowledge base of the knowne world? Does then the pelican serve to provide a picture of service to old and new alike?

While it is true that I did not seek out such accolade, title and responsibility, I will not belittle its importance and the opinions of those peers who chose to call me their own. Because I did not do something to get an award, I will not cease because of it either.

wow, um, that went longer than I expected...

Looking forward to seeing some of you at the wedding this weekend. take care little monkeys...

I guess after this rant, I deserve this...

Thidwick the Moose
Which Dr. Seuss

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next