Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

lights out!
2003-08-27 - 4:44 p.m.

Yup, the power went out. In fact, just after I had submitted the last entry and before I could shut down, the power took a nose dive. Oh well. I drove home in less than ideal conditions, but was honestly surprised when I only encountered 3 complete morons and none of them touched me, just irritated me. I got home and clicked the garage door opener. Opps. Yeah, needs electricity to run. silly me. Go in front door, call Pepco to report power outage, fish lanterns and candles from SCA gear, light a small candle in one of the bathrooms so there is light there, and sit in the waning sunlight to finish reading HP4. The silence was actually quite blissful in a way. No TV, radio, fish tank burblings, A/C running, no sound but the birds outside. Power came back on by 8pm, so we weren't even really in the "dark".

For the rest of the evening we contemplated dinner out, visiting friends, and ended up scrounging for dinner around the house (yay! left over chicken), watching Bridget Jone's Diary on TV, talking briefly with my folks, folding the last of the laundry and washing my new fabric from IKEA, and planning where to put new IKEA stuff in sewing room.

Yeah, forgot to mention, the new IKEA in College Park has a textiles section. Yes, truly, linen, for $5.50 a yard. It is nice and thick, beautiful cornflower blue with a hint of purple, but lots of sizing. I contemplated some cute pink polka-dot for a Party Tunic, and other really nifty prints, but settled on the linen, in a color I didn't have. The also had some in nice red, natural, and pale green, and possibly others that I didn't spot. In addition they had some nice cottons for $4 or less a yard too. Very tempting...

hmmm...

fabric...


yup, more quiz results...

Empress Theodora
You are: THEODORA (c500-548). The ultimate Empress,
who rose from bawdy actress to champion of the
oppressed. Her marriage to Justinian was
arguably the most loving and enduring in
history. She had many enemies at court, but was
a brilliant strategist and incredibly charming.



Which Byzantine Empress Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

cute but psycho
you are the cute but psycho happy bunny. You
adorable, but a little out there. It's alright,
you might not have it all, but there are worse



which happy bunny are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

and apparently I'm a...

Bear
What Is Your Animal Personality?

brought to you by Quizilla

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next