Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

interview with a sailing monkey
2003-06-23 - 9:21 a.m.

Well, I will start off with answering BdeB's questions/interview.

1. If you had unlimited resources, what would be the first thing that you changed about your house?

Unlimited resources? I'd have all three of the bathrooms remodeled. They are the most out of date part of the house, cracked tiles, less than ideal tub, icky wallpaper in two of them, icky linoleum in one, cracked toilet base on one, toilet that runs in the master, shit like that. First thing to be done would be the potties and showers, definitely. Kind of a boring answer. I guess others would add a hot tub, or deck or stuff like that, but the bathrooms are used everyday, therefore higher on my priority list.

2. What is the cutest thing that Alan does that no one else sees?

The cutest thing he does? Well, keep in mind that most of the things he does are cute to me. He gets a big silly grin on his face from time to time when a fun or funny concept crossed his mind. I believe most people think of him as stoic or serious, but just like I'm not always a ditz, he's not always so serious. He gets a bit of joy from playing with his aquariums and pond from time to time. That's certainly something that most of the SCA folks don't see.

3. Have you noticed a difference in how you are treated by casual aquaintances in the SCA, since receiving your Pelican?

Hmm, this is a hard one. Perhaps I just never notice or don't care. I get the "Mistress" title used a bunch more. But these are the same folks who used the "Baroness" title all the time too. (Note: not that I'm against the use of titles for certain times and places, I just don't insist on them ever being used for me.) I haven't noticed a bunch of folks asking me for advice, counsel or championing, but perhaps they did and I assumed it was more because of who I am and what I do and not the award. Does that make any sense?

4. If you could be in any car, anywhere in the world right now, what would you be in and where would you be?

This is also a tough question, since I adore almost any type of car. I think it would be a three way tie between driving the coast of CA in a convertible ,playing on the beach in a jeep, or tooling along the Blue Ridge Parkway in any vehicle with a sunroof and the windows down. Maybe this is just because the sun finally came out.

5. What was the last song you heard on the radio? What was it's message, as it applies to your life?

I admit, I am cheating on this question. I read the questions on Saturday night so got to pay attention to the songs this morning during my commute. These were the songs:

Just Like Heaven- The Cure This always reminds me of my freshman year in college when a guy I had a crush on would play it on his guitar. It's also just a fun song. Show me, show me, show me how to do that trick. The one that makes me scream she says, the one that makes me laugh she says, as she threw her arms around my neck...

Drift Away- covered by Uncle Cracker I confess I like the original version better, but this gets radio play. After this weekend of sailing, I took the metaphors more literally. Look for the light in the pouring rain... won't you take me away...

then Angel- Sarah Mac If you don't know the meaning of this song to me, I don't know if I could explain it. It simply reminds me of my grandfathers.

finally Still the One- Shania Twain While not a Shania fan (don't own a single CD) this song is just the perfect "we're doing alright" couples song. Yes, it makes me think of my sweet Alan. Brings back images of driving in a car together and holding hands, the candlelight dinner when he proposed, our wedding day, etc.

There you go, I'm sure this will be up for an emmy any time now. Imagine Princess Diana like thoughtful poses, dipping of the head, sly grins, and dewy eyes. Okay?


This weekend was faboo. We took a Fundamentals of Sailing class with a company up in Baltimore. We didn't kill each other (although at the end one wondered at the fate of our intrepid heros...) and we all learned to pilot a vessel, the parts of your basic sailboat, and stuff like that. We got to tool down to the Key bridge and zoom by the star spangled bouy that marks the place they think Mr. Key was when he came up with the lyrics for the Star Spangled Banner. Note: he must have had a telescope or something to see all the way to Fort McHenry. We also tried to make it into the inner inner harbor just to see if we could. We got in past the aquarium and then the tall buildings were blocking our wind, so we had to fanagle it to get out, but we managed. It was a lot of fun, and I think only Shane and I got totally doussed with waves and made mistakes at the tiller. My mistake was more grave than his, but we all survived and proved those boats won't capsize. Trust me, we tried. It was a ton of fun, didn't involve funny clothes, but did involve a change of clothes, and left us slightly tanned, tired, and satisfied. We've signed up for the next class after Pennsic. Can't wait.

Oh, and I got the read the first 3 chapters of Harry Potter 5. Very good so far. very.

Hope your weekends were equally as much fun.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next