Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

random
2003-06-18 - 4:17 p.m.

Which Fantasy/SciFi Character Are You?

Aragorn
Putting your appointed path ahead of any inner conflicts, you make your own rules for the benefit of all.
If my life or death I can protect you, I will.
Aragorn is a character in the Middle-Earth universe. There is a description of him at TheOneRing.net.

Um, okay.


making buttons... the buttonator. Button-a-rama. the Buttster...

oh wait, that just went very wrong.

~~~~~~~~~~

So, I feel the need to go shopping for some nice summer work clothes, especially now that it is approaching summer (or at least late spring) like weather. Problem is, no time to shop. Damn. Or rather, when I have the time I don't have the energy. Or something. And all of my work shoes are boots. Nice in spring, fall and winter, but somehow lacking in the summer. Not that I'm a big open-toed sandal girl, but something a bit more summery would be nice. I meant to go shopping for clothes last night and meet up with folks post-practice for dinner. Instead practice was canceled and we did a little shopping (me at JoAnn's for button supplies and Alan at Border's for books on sailing, birds and koi) and then boogied on over to meet up with the AoD and her charming hawaiian-shirt-wearing mate for dinner at a mongolian grill and much hanging out chatting afterwards. Twas lovely, really lovely, but didn't get me any new clothes or shoes.

I refuse to get up in arms over this possible overturning of Roe vs. Wade thing. For the record I'm entirely with Leofwynne on the issue. It's not a choice I'd make now, but it would be my choice darnit.

Secret Obsessions? Pen and paper have never really held that magic for me that others' find. There was a time in my life when I was never without my journal, but that wasn't for the pen and paper, it was for the immediate means to make more permanent thoughts. I think I have a not-so-secret obession with pearls. I love them. I think I have more pearl jewelry (both fake and real) than anything else. Alan even got me pearls for our anniversary. I like to play with them, look at them, feel them. Pearls are cool. And even better, they aren't a metal or gemstone that was tamed, cut, melted, sculpted. They are magic in that little tasty creatures took a bit of an irritant and made it into something shiny, smooth and lovely. In many items of jewelry that incorporate pearls, the other materials work around them. They are a rock, they are an island. There are examples of period jewelry where a pendant is designed around a pearl, making it the body of a lion or other beast. Pearls can be grouped together to be even more amazing, or poetic just on their own. Yup. If you love me and want to buy me jewelry, pearls are the way to go. Luckily, Alan's already learned this. :)

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next