Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

pollen nose, insurance woes...
2003-04-18 - 12:22 p.m.

Our backyard is alive with spring and easter colors. We have flowers of yellow, pink and purple growing on the hillside, daffodils and azaleas, quite festive to look out and see. Makes a gray day not nearly so awful. I saw a pair of robins hunting for worms on the lawn this morning, paused to watch them work for a little bit before I headed off to work.

Yesterday I cut a new batch of 'Fodils to put in a vase inside the house. They are all one kind, one thing I do miss about the old house, but they are still fragrant and beautiful. As I put my nose to one of them to take a sniff of spring, I was reminded of Leofwynne's daughter Kira at the Tir-Y-Don event. She was running around smelling flowers in between spots of rain and once during the day we found that she had pollen on the tip of her nose. It was really cute. Of course reminded of Kira's joy and getting too close to the flower's center, I had to run to the mirror to check my nose for pollen. Luckily I was safe.

Speaking of pollen, I hate my new insurance company... like with a passion. They need documentation that Claritin and Allegra don't work for them to pay for the Zyrtec. Because apparently my doctor saying so is not good enough. They want to know when I had a reaction, etc. Like I've documented this! Whenever it failed I just went to my doc to try something new. Apparently my chart isn't good enough for details. Because really, if you had a medicine that put you to sleep with one alcoholic drink, would you keep taking it if it wasn't the best thing? I think I'll just pay for it this time and fight them more later when I have the energy, and maybe can document it. F'ing bastards! We are really going to examine changing insurance plans when it comes to open enrollment season this fall. I actually miss my old insurance company, now how many folks can say that?

So last night Gina invited us non-musical types over for dinner. It was amzing, as usual. Gina made huge steaks, scallops, sauteed onions, baked potatoes, not to mention appetizers of shrimp and cocktail sauce and dessert of Chocolate Confusion cake of death. ugh..

Not Cake or Death, Cake of death. Chocolate crumb crust with chocolate mouse layer with chocolate fudge layer, with more chocolate on time with chocolate chips. I couldn't finish my piece, but after that slab of steak it is hardly surprising.

Then we waddled off to Last Chance for a little time making faces at little Grace, some picking on Rob and Quentin, and general mayhem with good friends. Mind you before the dinner invite I had plans to skip LC and stay home to sew and do laundry. I guess that will happen either tonight or Sunday. It's probably some kind of heresy to do laundry on Easter Sunday, but oh well. We will be entertaining the charming company of Thjora this weekend, in fact she arrives this afternoon.

I, of course, haven't made the time to do any sewing this week aside from a quick experiment with boning with hemp cord instead of spring steel. Just a test piece though. Looks kinda cool. I got the idea from an article on Jen Thompson's Festive Attyre site where she has made a few hemp corded bodies. I am too impatient to wait to order the thick hemp cord, but picked up the hippie jewelry stuff at JoAnn's and found that 8 strands of this stuff seems to work pretty well in the test bit I did. Beside the reed boning had little bundles, so I'll acheive that look but with a different more flexible material. I also hope to make this front lacing and will use spring steel at the very front for a bit more stability.

That's all folks. Hope to catch many of you on Saturday!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next