Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

been weeks
2003-03-10 - 5:38 p.m.

Okay, it's been a damn long time since I updated and a lot has happened. I've just been too busy with a job I truly adore and going place on the weekends to leave much time for updates. I suck, I'm sorry.

Alan and I fly out for Nawlins tomorrow morning, earlier than I'd like but I made the plane reservations so I guess I can't complain. I am so excited about going to Gulf Wars and getting to see my aunt and uncle and their new place on the Mississippi River. I was extremely amused by their new street name: bourgeois. So it will be a challenge to pack all of our stuff in two suitcases and two carry-ons, but I think I'll find a way to manage. This is a big difference from half a truck for my lil' ole stuff. Meng kindly has taken Alan's armour (heavy and rapier) so we at least don't have to worry about that and airport security. And we get to spend the day in New Orleans with my aunt and uncle on Sunday before we fly back on monday. I'll try to give a full report when I return.

Last weekend Kirsten came up to stay with us for a conference in DC and ended up staying until Sunday morning. I had hoped to be Mrs. Productive in the sewing room making new/replacement garb for GW but alas all I did was help Tara with a pattern, go shopping and warp my loom with a new card weaving project that is almost done. I may not have new garb for GW but I just might have a new belt for my viking done in time! As much as it pains me I will not be taking the loom with me to play with. I just can't sacrifice a carry-on to the loom and I can only imagine the airport security questions about it. :( Had a great fun time with Kirsten this weekend though. Thai food courtesy of Beth on Friday and I got to win Clue and my team won Taboo thanks to Wendy bringing them over on Friday night. :) muwhahahahah! Alan and I also got to meet Kristine for dinner on Thursday who was a scream. We'll definitely have to get together again some time. She's just a bundle of crazy energy. I can see why she's friends with the Educait.

Jessica and I drove down to Kingdom A&S Festival in Greeville, SC. Actually we stopped in Gastonia to stay with the Bera and then daytripped the fest and had dinner with the crazy Sacred Stone folks. The event was really well done, I think the balance was finally right. There was enough to do that no one (I hope) got bored, but there wasn't so much to do that everyone was hurried. I got to sit and chill in the active display room for a bit and really liked that. Bera helped me warp my loom with another project that my current belt is based on and I finished that on Tuesday or something. It went really fast. I also got to teach a few folks more fingerloop braiding which is always fun. I think that will have to by my craft of choice for GW as it requires little overhead and just a bunch of string. I also got to talk to Azza during dinner about string and the CA she co-wrote on it and figured out why I was really confused by the diagrams in the CA on Fingerloop braiding. All of the diagrams grab with the index finger while the instructions and the way I learned are based on grabbing with the ring finger. opps! But good to know.

Being the clothes horse that I am I took two outfits for the one day event. I couldn't decide when packing whether I wanted to wear black to mourn Finnr or viking to honor him. Since I didn't know him that well I chose to honor him. There was plenty black all around by his distince absence there. Cuan made us all cry at the end of court with a touching announcement of his passing, rememberances of his life and reminders to live each day to the fullest and not let a single opportunity go by without letting the folks you love and admire know it.

Jake and I stopped by the second viewing on Sunday night on our return trip. It made it much more real, and yet more healing. We also made the trip back with Sorcha in tow for the memorial service on Monday night. That was one of the best ways to honor him. The multitude of happy stories and painful crys at the loss of James was healing and made his family and close friends know that he was a well loved, well respected man and the world is certainly better for having his light in it if only for a short while. Even though Jake, Sorcha or I got up to speak we talked about what we would have said on the drive back home that night.

Finnr, we will miss you so much. You added so much light to our world while you were here and you will continue to live in our memories forever. James was a great man, of that there is no doubt.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next