Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

hellos and goodbyes
2003-01-17 - 5:12 p.m.

Hello! (waves)

Yesterday I did my Lara Croft impersonation. Combat boots, cargo pants (not shorts, are you crazy?), the cool skull belt thanks to Tricia, snug black sweater, hair in a french braid and black trenchcoat. I felt the need to kick some ass and never got the chance.

Today I am doing my best mid-west farmer's daughter impersonation: to wit poofy hair and overalls. Love the overalls, modern sideless surcoats, only with more pockets.

I had a blast at 12th Night. I apologize if I didn't get to hang with my VA and MD friends as much, but I did jump upon the opportunity to hang with some southern folks and talk glass with a few ladies. That rocked it. And I got loot. I love loot. I wish I was disciplined enough to make 12th Night tokens for folks, but I'm not. I'm a slacker. I still need to unpack the baskets from 12th Night to go through and properly appreciate the loot. Although the shortbread is long gone. and yummy!

I did have a great time talking glass with Tegan, Kira, Leofwynne, Brigit and others. Now that was fun. Although it did make me a little sad that all these fine ladies wanted to learn and the studio I learned at was in MD and many of them were in NC/SC. We might just have to rent out our guestroom for interested glassworkers to come up and take classes from Art of Fire. But hopefully they will find a studio near them that does teaching. Reminds me that I need to get back into the hot shop and play with more hot glass.

I also got to re-meet Susanna von Something and her charming family from Sacred Stone and chat with her at the fighter practice on Sunday. Alan seemed to have a real fun time staying to fight Christian, Marian, Viv and others. And I was a much happier marmoset when I remembered that I had fleece ear covering in the back of Scarlet so I didn't freeze. I was all about styling in my PPG wear, even if it was mostly insufficient for standing in the cold. Thank goodness to David and the wonderful hot chocolate.

goodbye...

Of course as I talk about all this joy and fun, I keep coming back to the phone call I got this morning. My dad's uncle, Niles Hysell, passed away this morning after a final bout with cancer. He was a young age of 82, and still full of vigor when last I saw him Sept 2001. I hope that Naomi, his devoted wife and my grandmother's sister, will be okay. They were always such nice people, full of energy and vitality. They really lived life to the fullest. He was one of these slightly overweight but extremely active grandfather figures in my life. They were always one to me, Niles and Naomi. Now only Naomi, with Niles still in her heart. My prayers are with you Naomi, rest in peace Niles. He passed in the loving arms of his wife and one of his sons.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next