Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

fun in the SCA
2003-01-24 - 5:39 p.m.

Sleep deprivation is a dangerous thing. Last night when I was going to bed at 1:30am, I stopped for a small glass of milk. I tried to put the milk jug in the cabinet next to the fridge when I was done pouring. Luckily it wouldn't fit in the shelves and my reptiliam brain remembered cold goes in fridge, warm milk bad.

Our latest little group project is almost done. Look for it at Ice Castles. I'll post pictures of it in progress when we return from the event. My wrists don't hurt nearly as bad as they did after kneading gingerbread dough for the Bandes Yule. Thank goodness for heating pad and flexeril and liberal doses of Ibuprofen during the day.

So, to jump on the bandwagon of Gyrth's questionaire...

1. The last few events, eh? Well, if you define few as five or so, let's think. I went to 12th Night to get to see friends farther away, see the Bera get her Pearl and in general meet new folks, which I did. It was great. Before then was Fortunatus in Caer Mear. I love my CM buds and more excuses to visit with them are appreciated. That and Corby took a new squire so we had to support. The fighting seemed fun, some of the A&S entries were great and hey, it ended up as the "Feast-for-Thomas". Missed the feast, but hanging out at Mike and Kirsten's was fun as always. Before then was Unevent, obligations and my first bird meeting-still got to see friends. Before then was Crown. I love the pagentry of Crown, the intensity, and frankly my curiousity is overwhelming to not know who the new heirs are. Besides, there was Karen's elevation I wouldn't have missed for the world. The true 5 SCA events ago was Crusades. It was a big day. I had hoped for it to be small but can't say I mind. I had ever intention of just going to hang out, help and little and see friends. I'm sensing a theme running here...

2. Medieval fun the overiding reason? I guess Crown for one, Crusades and the clash of armoured fighters in large numbers certainly had some magic. I know this is gonna sound gooby, but I love going for courts. I love seeing everything from the AoA of someone I don't know to the latest Peer of the realm. I like fun courts, enthralling courts. For me the magic is when a court is done right, with enough humor and levity to make it worth my attention.

3. How many events would I go to if I didn't know a soul there? Now, this I'm not so sure. I rarely go anywhere where I don't know at least someone. If I really wanted to go to an event, the fact that I didn't know anyone there wouldn't deter me, but I mostly do go to the events where I'll see my friends at.

And then someone who got burned on the SCA once said to me that they hated having to get dressed in funny clothes just to go hang out with their friends. I guess I'm opposite. I love the clothes! duh! So I really like it most of the time. I think everyone occasionally has those moments when they don't want to get out of bed, don't want to pack the truck, don't want to make the drive, but often if you do it is one of the most rewarding and fun experiences.

I guess growing up in Black Diamond I learned that you had to travel. We were equally inconvenient to everywhere. So a 2-4 hour road trip doesn't phase me at all and it means I get to see more folks than I would sticking to a 1 hour radius.

:) Hope to see many of you this weekend at a fun event!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next