Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

what a way to start the day...
2002-04-15 - 12:25 p.m.

So, what do you do in the morning before you get to work?

Well, normally, I get up (barely), shower, get dressed and get on the road to work. No caffiene or food until after the first hour of work since I wait for Gainer. Today was about as atypical as you could get.

So, I get up, shower, get dressed. That part is normal. Jump to the summary. Then I decide to pick up a few things, take out recycling, tidy a magazine here, straighten a towel there. We have a home inspection today at 1:30pm, so I at least want it to look like we keep the house mostly neat on a normal basis therefore giving the illusion that we maintain it well. I also randomly go cut come 'fodils and a purple tulip to put in a vase on the TV just to have some fresh flowers in the house. I smell the flowers, glance around to double check overall neatness, and lock up to head to work. I'm running a little late, but no big. The sun is shining, it's already 70 degrees and a light breeze. Driving around with the windows down listening to Blondie kinda morning.

So, I'm driving down New Hampshire Ave. and stopped at light at the Elementary School, behind a silver Lincoln Town Car. I'm slightly annoyed that he's being a little pokey, but it's a lovely day, so no worries. I'm singing to Blondie, and then wham I get side swiped by a white acura, and the driver's head is practically in the passenger's lap. Looked for a second like she was reaching for something in her purse. Then she is stopped by plowing into the rear panel of the Town Car in front of me. Driver is passed out. Nicelady stops behind me to check to see if everyone is alright, niceman calls 911, cops there is 3 minutes. Passenger is a 12 year old girl. I assume her mom was driving her to school when she passed out from something (low blood sugar? diabetic? sick? something, she wasn't drunk, or just sleepy, definite chemical imbalance) I get out, I'm fine, I was stopped and only slightly dinged, more shocked than anything else. Driver of Town Car is irked, seriously irked, but understanding and calm. Nicelady happens to know the passenger, she is in Girl Scouts with her daughter. I get on my cell phone, while niceman calls 911 to call the girl's grandmother to let her know what happened, what's going on, that no one is seriously hurt, but where we are and what the situation is. Cops look over the situation, firemen arrive, EMT's arrive, ask everyone if they are all okay...

This was not the start of my day I had planned for.

While the nice officers are sorting everything out, one comes over to me to tell me I should put my hazard lights on, duh! red-faces shame, slightly distracted. Hand over liscence, registration and insurance cards. Call my insurance co. give them the scoop. Told them my truck might not need any repairs, nothing beyond minor scratches, but thought I'd report the claim just in case something does turn up or they need another account, or something. Lady and daughter can walk, but are taken away in ambulance to get checked out, and besides, lady's not driving anymore today. I get a police case #, get done on the phone with my insurance co., make sure they don't need anything from me, and I get on my way to work. All told, I'm about 45 mins late to work. Understandably, I was a little skittish and on the look out for other maniacal drivers out there.

Total damage that I can see to Scarlett is some scratches on the left side bumber, but since it's chrome and rubber, no big. I think there is a very minor scrape from the acura's sideview mirror down the side. Didn't penetrate the paint, no dent, just scraped the wax so it appears. The front left tire appears to have take a little abuse, but no worse for wear, certainly functional, and working fine. Scarlett doesn't pull to one side or the other, so no inside damage as far as I can tell. Will likely get her looked at just in case. Lady has an acura, she can afford it if it does need repairs.

Still feel bad for the little girl, she's not hurt, but seriously spooked, and really, having your mom pass out like that, I can't imagine what's going through her little mind.

And then I get to work, tell my tale, such as it is, and go to get breakfast. Remember that, haven't had caffiene and food yet? Well, get my breakfast, but the damn coke machine is out of both regular Diet Coke and lemon pledge DC. ARRGGGHHH!!! This is not how I planned to start my day. Have to hoof it up to the 3rd floor for Diet Cokey goodness...

So, now I'm sitting at my desk, can't concentrate, a little stiff (but who doesn't stiffen up when in a car accident, even minor?), longing for my chiropractor, and my bed. Slightly shakey from nerves? adrenaline? shock? something...

Theo suggested I write a rant, so here it is. Not really a rant though, is it?

Summary:


My weekend was fabulous though. Had a nice relaxing friday night at home, came home to ribs. Alan's so wonderful. We actually sat at our dining room table, and ate off of the new plates I had got for display, and talked. yay! Then we had some drinks and watched bad movies on TV, caught most of Best in Show, then the end of Bring it On, and some odd teen show on WAM!E, and then oh something else not memorable. I slept until 9:45am on Saturday morning. Alan called and I went over for the tail end of the house inspection for new house, and then we had a bite before going to Mike and TJ's wedding. I was so paranoid we'd be late. Technically we were 10 minutes late, but not a big deal, since I think we stood around for another half hour before the ceremony started. It was outdoors on her parents' farm, very lovely, great food, had a swell time. Although one draw back was that I did something, so my neck was stiff on friday night, and then again on Sat. morning. Like, tried the heating pad, and anti-inflammatories, and still stiff, can't bend neck back to rinse hair in shower without getting suds in my eyes. :( All was better on Sunday, so no worries, temporary still muscles. At least it wasn't the turn your head X way and get shooting pains somewhere.

Sunday was a blast. I picked up Lauren, and we went and got our hairs cut at Great Clips in Columbia. Then we went to Sushi Sono, but they are closed on Sundays. Who'da thunk? So we discuss options of Sushi King, or Nechi Bai Chi, and then decide to switch gears to Cajun, and go to Copeland's. Not quite Nawlins' quality, but does not suck at all. But we were also still on the lake for stopping by Clyde's for take out mousse and eating by the lake. Ahhhh... Afterwards we went to Arundel Mills and shopped, shopped and walked around. Good exercise one might say. Lauren spent less than $30. I spent, well, a lot more than that. But I got two new shirts, two new pairs of Old Navy jeans, some more Sweat Pea stuff from Bath and Body Works, found exact replacement sunglasses at Hot Topic and a new wallet, oh, and Blondie Live on CD for $5. We had fun, just chatting and hanging out. Nice relaxing afternoon. Gina called around 4:30 apparently I missed my phone ringing. She then called at 6 to ask if I was ever bringing her daughter home...

Fine, fine, I'll return her. Brief discussion of decorating and painting kitchen ensued before I headed home.

But first a quick (read: hour long) stop by Wen's to drop off an ungift, which changed into a swap of addresses, look at house layouts, room dimensions, hardwood floor colors, house box, and all other sorts of madness until hunger randomly struck. We ending the evening with a lovely dinner at the Blue Ox Cafe, and then I worked on the second round of invites...

need a nap...

yawn

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next