Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

whiskey and jazz
2002-04-16 - 12:51 p.m.

Theorhetically, 10 days til closing on the new house and getting out of the current house. We still have to have the bank appraisal and the termite inspection done, and then work on the moving plans. The home inspection on current house was done yesterday, and apparently our buyer accepted. Both Alan and I want to know what came up on it out of morbid curiousity. Maybe we can get a copy of it. We are having some problems with our seller. We need to have a few minor things fixed from the home inspection on the new house. Nothing we can't do ourselves, but nicer if he does it.

He also needs to give us updated HOA docs. What he passed onto us is from 1997. I have a feeling some things may have changed. Current docs say that the HOA has 30 days to approve structures such as the pond and fence for the back yard. grr... but it's okay, Alan came up with a plan for temporaily moving the pond fish before building the one true pond for the fishes to frolick in, not froglick. I don't think fish have tongues to froglick with anyway. I don't think the frogs would accept fishy kissing noises instead of licking.

Amusing side note, apparently on a Google search of "froglicker", my page is the second hit. Byram's guestbook page is the third. Who would do a search on "froglicker" I'm not entirely sure, but I bet this is not what they were anticipating.

So, Alan took my glorified wading pool idea, and the fact that maybe the garage would be better temp placement of outdoor fish than the carpeted basement, and easier to get in and out of, and he found a glorified wading pool that is 18 inches deep, which should be plenty for the fish for a little while. Plants will have to live in a bucket of water on the patio for a while. That should speed up the approval of the fence and pond. We could have left the fish at the old place for a month, but we'd be sad if buyer neglected to feed them. Best to move in one swell foop. Also, we might be able to get away with moving in a few days, as oppossed to the week we are asking for with post and/or pre-settlement occupancy agreements. I don't understand why the seller won't give us a few days in advance, we'd even pay the jerk extra. sigh.

Mind is on the house and the wedding. Probably not enough on the wedding. Still have a few more invites to send out. Sitting and writing them all takes way longer than it should. I can see the wisdom in hiring a calligrapher to address your invites, but that is wisdom found too late. Trying to figure out what colors of tab curtains to add to the Target or Penney's registry for the various rooms in the new house. I already pretty much know what furniture goes in which room. New house has no blinds at the moment, so curtains are the way to go, and they have so many pretty solid colors in natural fibers out right now. Thinking gold for the living room and cream, red or blue for the family room. I like the idea of blue in the kitchen. No clue for the dining room, maybe gold as well since it ties in with the LR. Just need to make sure that gold doesn't easily turn into mustard yellow. Not the affect I'm going for.

10 days to closing.

53 days til wedding


So, thanks to yesterday's morning, my boss let me go home a little early. I swung by the chiropractor, told him I wasn't going to do an insurance claim for this since I'd be visiting him anyway thanks to the sore neck from this weekend. Doc fixed me right up and I went home, and used nature's other remedies. Heating pad on my back and neck, and scotch. Hmmm... Scapa... I also took a nice long nap on the couch in the living room. Alan says it's not designed for naps, but I disagree, I think it is perfect. Just like my bed, not overstuffed or too squishy. Love my couch. Today to maintain a positive outlook and a reasonably gentle disposition, I've been listening to Nina Simone in the truck. Nina is a jazz, soul, R&B goddess, for those that don't know her. I first heard her music from the movie Point of No Return. I don't have a huge collection of her stuff, but what I do have, I love. I actually named my pet rat, Nina, after her. Nina has now gone the way of all things, but she had soul, much like Nina Simone's music. Deep alto tones, making you feel the passion and yet calming at the same time. Yeah, heating pad, scotch, and Nina made me feel much better this morning. :)

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next