Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

weekend, really...
2002-04-03 - 3:42 p.m.

As I was saying....

Friday, Pager woke me up at 7:15am. I get up, check the system, page the systems folks in a variety of manners, and while I wait, check in with other email and stuff. Figure out another problem, page and call developers at 8am, finally give up and call one developer at home at 8:30am, which was lucky that I picked the one to call at home who could actually fix the problem, then the fix was underway. All told, I was up til 10am, and then went back to bed, not having had enough sleep, hoping to wake up around 11, but in actuality, not til noon. Get up, start on vacuuming and cleaning the carpets.

Now, it is time to note that when I moved out of my apartment 2 years ago, my vacuum cleaner needed the bag replaced and a new belt. (Lots of long hair in system, shocking I know.) Well, being the bum that I am, I didn't do anything about it since moving in with Alan, he had a vacuum. And despite the fact that it is a cannister vaccum and I despise working with it, I never got around to fixing mine. With the Swiffer, hardwood floors and only area rugs, vacuuming was only occasional anyway. So, as I'm vacuuming with Alan's cannister system, I notice that it is not doing a great job, turns out the bag is full and we have no replacements. So, we have gone from 1 working vacuum cleaner to none. Alan goes out to return chainsaw, another story, and goes to get a belt for my vacuum and replacement bags for his.

Well, he can't find replacement cannister bags. He didn't get replacement bags for mine, because I have plenty but they are all in storage since it wasn't working what was the point of having replacement bags around... So we have a replacement belt, but needs a new bag. Still two non-working vaccums. Mike and Kirsten have arrived, and Kirsten blessedly runs out on errand to get some groceries and vacuum cleaner bags for both machines. YAY! I've steam cleaned the two area rugs that need it and now we have two working vacuum cleaners... sigh.

While carpets dry we ponder sushi for dinner. We assume that by choosing sushi, we might have a smaller party since not everyone likes sushi. No, instead we had a party of 14. Yup, that's right, 14 people eating what is considered bait by those of baser culture. And I even got complaints that I didn't invite some friends, who don't even like sushi anyway... I can't win, I should have stayed home and ordered chinese. But we finally wrangle the group, find a sushi place that takes reservations, hang out in a bar for a little bit then settle down for some good miso soup slurping, chopstick salad eating, sake drinking, raw fish eating, plum ice cream enjoying, company loving good time. We called it the pre-party-party. By the time we got home, we crashed hard, knowing that Saturday would bring a full day of work before we can party.

Saturday, pager does not wake me, surprisingly, and I get up by 9 to start on the day ahead. We have upstairs carpets to clean (still need to do stairs), bathrooms to clean, furniture to put back in its place, windows to clean, and some more touch up painting to do. Now that we have two working vacuums, doing the upstairs should be easy, right? Well, since Kirsten was busy cleaning the bathroom like a fiend (thanks), and Mike was splitting wood and then going to the Apple/Mac store in Tysons, and Alan was cleaning the windows outside, I get to do the upstairs all myself. All in all, it wasn't that bad. Apparently we forgot to put in the new bag after replacing the vacuum belt, but luckily thanks to HEPA filter, it kept all the icky stuff in the container, it just sounded odd and was a pain to clean up. But I move all the furniture to one side of the room, single handedly! I am wonder woman! Actually it wasn't that hard, it's not like we have full armoires or something, take the drawers out, desk and chests of drawers easy to move. By sitting on the floor, pushing with my feet on the bed, it grudgingly moved too... But I did clean one side and then the other before heading off to Bob's 2nd Annual 50th birthday party.

So, I shower last, and then go through outfit crisis. You see, if it was a party out of town, I'd have been fine with what I brought. But since I had my entire closet to choose from, it was nigh impossible. I put on the outfit I intended to wear, very 50's preppy looking. But then I had the "I'm too fat to wear this!" crisis, so I tried on a new top, and then a new top with jeans, then new top with shorts, then new top with new skirt, then new top with second skirt, and third top, and finally fourth. And with some clean laundry in the basement, and some clothes in closet in den, I ran up and down stairs a few times in various versions of various outfits trying to find something I was comfy with. Finally I decide to screw the theme, and go with Laura's overall theme of black. Black also hides a multitude of sins. I assume that all the fretting was worth it, as most seemed to like my outfit. And someone, who was showing way more cleavage than I, was saying I was brave... ;)

The party was a party, lots and lots of fun, staying out too late, drinking a bit (tee hee), thankfully I just drank cider the entire night. There was some smoking of cloves outside, some talking on the phone to Shortney, some chatting, some drinking, some flirting, some hugs, and an all around great time! Can't wait til next year. Vic is not allowed near hair products when drunk with a bunch of longhaired friends. Body jewels were an interesting addition, and so were the door prizes. :) We got home after 2am, and I stayed up in random energy burst futzing til 3am before crashing.

Sunday was gloomy and a very much needed chill day. We hung out til noon or so when M&K missed Max, and headed on home. I met and did storage unit inventory and picture taking with STB-CPM, and then went home to take pictures of our rooms for the realtor to put together a brochure. Otherwise there was much laying around and vegging when we should have been more productive. Sigh, oh well.

I still have not yet assembled the storage tower for the basement bathroom. I tried to on Thurs. night before Last Chance, but then people kept on calling me. And I'm not bright enough to try and multitask that much. And besides, the headset phone doesn't work. :(

So, tonight is the last night to do major stuff before Coronation and Open House. Gotta make a Target and grocery run. Gotta assemble the storage tower. Gotta clean the carpetted stairs. Gotta paint the bathroom window frame. Gotta vacuum the carpets one last time. Gotta pre-pack some stuff for Coronation. Must get it all done tonight, because tomorrow is packing for Coronation and picking up the stuff at STB-CPM's storage unit to haul down, and a Last Hurrah at LC. Hope to be on the road to Fayetteville by 3pm on Friday.

65 hours and 30 mins til done...

whew

Oh, and anyone who wants any firewood, it is free to a good home. Sitting out beside our garage. Come on over and load up your truck til you can't take anymore. Take my firewood, please!
If not soon, I'll call a firewood place and see if they can take it away...
No, I won't bring any to off load at Coronation...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next