Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

easily amused
2001-12-20 - 11:57 a.m.

Ah, finally, some productivity, if a little late in the game.

When I got home from work I cratered on the futon on the floor for a good hour and a half. Damn good thing I thought the movie was worth it. So after my nap, we play around with the new digital cable that has been installed. Now we have even more channels with nothing on them. I kinda dig the music channels, as well as tons more movies. Caught the end of Princess Bride. :) 25 PPV channels, yeah, that's nice. 45 music channels, some cool, some odd things like Brazilian Pop. There's a market for Brazilian Pop in Mongomery County MD? Who could have guessed? At least 30 more movie channels, including westerns and such. There is even the specialized VH1 and MTV channels. They have VH1-Country? Spare me, please. We also got an all in one remote that we can program for the other devices as well. Could be nicer than scrounging for the four different remotes.

After playing around and ordering Chinese food for one, since Alan already had a sandwich, I set down to the ~dun dun dun~ dreaded Christmas cards... They are done. Thankfully. I wrote, signed, addressed and return addressed 46 cards and envelopes. The licking shut stage came this morning. bleck! I've tried the wet sponge to close, but I usually end up getting everything soaked and I am paranoid about water around paper. Best to just lick them all shut and get it over with. Need more Diet Coke to mask the taste. So, 46 cards. And I had planned on getting stamps from the ATM machine here at work only they seem to be out. Entirely empty!!! Don't they know I'm counting on this? I don't wanna brave the post office 5 days before Xmas!!! Bastards. I guess I'll have to. So, cards will be in the mail soon. I remembered 4 more I forgot and need to write out, sheesh. If you don't get one from Alan and I, assume I hate you. No that's not right. Assume I don't have your address. Or assume that I don't know you read my diary and you should sign the guestbook! hee hee hee Or assume I am completely blonde and totally forgot. Hell, I'm lucky I remember my sisters sometimes. Oh, and unlike some people, even if you are local and I will see you tonight at LC, yours is still being mailed. (Yes, I'm looking at you QPM and Q) :)

Tonight I think I will be brave and make a Costco run. Yes, I know I'm crazy. Yes, I know it'll be packed. Such is life.

So, I have come to the conclusion that I am easily impressed, espcially by movies. After reading more reviews who picked apart LotR, sure, I sort of agree, but I still thought it was a great movie. I know it wasn't following the book. Few movies rarely do. I thought it was true to the overall world that Tolkien created, and really what more can you ask from Hollywood? I think I liked Trav's review the best. And I agree, I thought most of the special effects were cool except when Galariel freaked out. That was just silly. But still, on the whole, I am just more easily impressed, not a very discriminating customer I guess. I enjoyed LotR, and Phantom Menance (except for Jar-Jar, but that goes without saying.), and Someone Like You, and What Women Want, and the Kevin Smith movies and really, I just like to be entertained. Don't get me wrong, I like good thought provoking movies too, I just don't get my hopes up too high for all the other stuff that is meant for pure entertainment. I guess I just don't look too hard for intricate plots, or small inconsistencies that seem to make a big deal to others. Eh, consider me easily amused.

and with that thought I am off...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next