Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Lord of the Rings
2001-12-19 - 11:16 a.m.

I know I will make a bunch of my friends jealous, but I saw The Lord of the Rings: the Fellowship of the Ring this morning. Midnight. yes, I did. And it was faboo! My first thought is that it is a good thing that we only have to wait one year before the next installment, otherwise I would go mad. Time to hunker down and read the books now.

I don't plan on ruining anything, but I haven't read the books, so sorry if I do. The scinematography was amazing. The views of the lands of all of Middle Earth were breathtaking, whether breathtakingly beautiful or shockingly barren, the backgrounds were awesome. The casting was superb. Who ever cast each individual part did an excellent job. Ian McKellen as Gandulf was perfect. I was skeptical of Elijah Wood as Frodo, but he works out very well. Cate as Galadriel was spooky, mystic, enticing. Liv Tyler as Arwen, although a bigger part than in the first book, was enchanting. She's so naturally pixy and elf-like, she was perfect. Legalos, the elf of the Fellowship, could have been cast with Leonardo di Caprio, but Orlando Bloom was magical. His quick draw of the bow was a sight to behold. Lightening fast, as you would imagine a good elvin archer would be.

Aside from the casting, the different areas were just as you might imagine, only more so. The Shire was a lovely pastoral setting, the last place to find evil. Rivendell was even more ornate than I would have guessed. The tower, the forrest, the Dwarf mines, all of it so beautiful it almost brought tears to my eyes. I also thought that while it may not have followed the book exactly right, it did a very good job of staying true to Tolkien's world. Apparently they had to cut 2 hours from the film to make it the brief 3 hours it was. I bet the DVD will nicely contain all that cutting room floor footage when it comes out.

Adjectives that come to mind: Riveting, I couldn't believe when it ended that the three hours passed to quickly. Awe-inspiring, every scene was exquisitely done. Intense, through several scenes I was gripping my seat, turning away and yet not being able to not look at the same time. I gasped, I laughed, I winced, I sat dumbfounded. I thought it totally lived up to and surpassed the hype. Go see this movie!!!

of course, now I need more caffeine to survive the day. But, per my manager's decree, I was here on time this morning. The long nap I took before the movie definitely helped, but didn't entirely get rid of the lack of sleep funk for the day, just helped make me functional. I wonder if I can get away with a nap for lunch?

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next