Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Happy happiness holidays and stuff
2001-11-21 - 10:36 a.m.

Happy Birthday to Trinity! Happy Birthday to Trinity! Happy Birthday dear Trinity! Happy Birthday to you! So, as you might have guessed, today is my niece's birthday and she is entering the terrible twos. Hmmm... time to avoid family functions for a year... just kidding. So, since I'm a bad aunt, the check is in the mail, I swear, I ordered her gifts from Amazon, and they should be there sometime after Thanksgiving. I just hope they are appropriate. I know what to buy for big kids and I know what to buy for babies, but what do you get for a 2 year old? Eh, movies and soft books. Yes, I'll be the geeky aunt who encourages learning. By the way, I just uploaded pics of the kids from September in the Bethany photo album on http://photos.yahoo.com/trinsaunt/

So, this will mark the second ever Thanksgiving that I have spent with folks outside of my immediate family. Should be fun, but I'm so used to just having Turkey Day either down at the farm or at my sister's place in Hickory. Some changes are weird to make. I'll never forget the time we went to do Thanksgiving with the Florida Grandparents instead of on the Farm. We went out for dinner. How silly is that? You don't go out for dinner, especially to some lame restaurant that gives you a few thin slices of turkey covered in gravy, when you don't want it covered in gravy... Let's just say it was weird. Sometimes I am such a creature of habit.

Tonight Alan and I are flying up to go visit his family on Cape Cod. Two of his brothers live up there, and so do his parents. We haven't seen them since Christmas of last year. I just got to thinking of all the things that have changed since then; our engagement, my new niece, wedding plans, my grandfather's passing, and those are only the major things. Wow, it will be good to see them all again. I will miss seeing my fam though. I did just see them in September for Bethany's Baptism, but it seems ages ago. For the past couple of years we've gathered at my sister's place for Thanksgiving since she has limited travel ability with children, the biggest house to host us all in, and she has to attend to both Clint's father and his mother separately for the Holidays.

We will return on Sat, in time to check on Mr. Garibaldi one more time before Rob and Wen finally make their way back to the states from their sojourn overseas, hopefully with gifts in tow, since I am on the whole a greedy girl. :) Here's wishing a happy and safe holiday to you all.

Happy Thanksgiving! Happy Birthday Trin!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next