Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Holy Cow, Batman!
2001-11-20 - 3:04 p.m.

Complete off the wall, I am so glad I signed up for the Diaryland Gold Membership, the stats are way cool. So two things I noticed looking at my stats today. Someone found my page by doing a google search on "Herjolfsnes G63". When I did the search myself, I came up as the third entry. That's a little scary. Also, even funnier, someone else found my page by searching on "robert de rath". tee hee hee. Mind you, when I did the search, my page was listed on the 9th page, which means whoever found me that way was persistent. :) I love those stats.


So, as I was saying before I cut yesterday's entry short...

Kymber and I started wrapping shark's teeth with wire to make them into pendants to add to the award medallion coffers, and pretty much did that periodically throughout the day. Our poor King was not feeling well at all, no voice, enough sudafed to put an American Bison to sleep, and yet he still seemed to be in a good mood and had fun watching the crackhead fighting. Still one of the staples of the Royal presence on Saturday along with the banner, kneeling pillow, sword of state, mug, table, was a LARGE box of Kleenex. Poor guy.

I did get to talk to Violante about a scroll she is doing for me, thanks to winning at the Pilgrim Badge game at A Pilgrim's Tale. Excellent. I have exactly two real scrolls. The first one was done all in one day by the sweet Eadan at a Black Diamond baronial event when I was still living down there. It is for my Baron's Award of Excellence that I pride to this day. I need a new frame for it, but I still love it, my first scroll. The other is my Pearl Scroll that I got from Havorc and Mary-Grace. I still need to get that one framed. Hey, wait, aren't they doing a framing sale at JoAnn's lately? So, needless to say, I got to sit and flip through some idea books she had and said that I wanted one like that!, pointing like an overexcited 6 year old, only with more bugs! I like bugs, just not those damn cave crickets.

It was a nice laid back lazy day, and luckily I forgot to get cash so no shopping for me, not that I saw instantly something that caught my eye, so really it was okay. I do need to give Shane back the $5 I borrowed from him for lunch. I'm such a slacker.

For the evening court, I got to sit next to Eadan, Susie and Liam which was fun, while all the boys stood in court, wearing their cute little smurf hats, or shark hats, if on backwards, or, as a certain Countess proclaimed them, their reservoir tips. tee hee. Court was short but sweet, and I don't remember hearing any mooing. Excellent!

Afterwards, since we didn't reserve for feast and since the sick King was driving home to crater in bed, we went back to Kymber and Rags's place for Pizza and chilling. We got a little lost on the way there, but eventually made it. Rags outfitted all the boys, who felt self conscious in tunics, with Steelers sweatshirts and Kymber dressed Violante in a smiley shirt. tee hee hee... They went out to get pizza, we hung out and looked at books and I wrapped more shark's teeth and we ate and then went downstairs for Star Wars Trivial Pursuit. I must say now that My Team Won!!! No thanks to me mind you, but my team won. There was Shane, Gina, Katie and Scott on Team Leia. Rags, Kymber, Mel and the Mute on Team Vader. And Henry, Uncle Schekky and myself on Team Solo. No one wanted to be whiney assed Luke. Between Henry and Schekky they kicked ass, I only knew the answer to one question, C3PO! but I faithfully was the roller, pressing down on R2's head when necessary. :) It was all the boys. They rock. Then as the hours went by, and the cats began to get to me and my mudslide downed and then forgotten, we made our way home to our own happy beds, pre-warmed in my case thanks to Alan. :)

Sunday I woke up at 7am, looked at the clock, groaned and went bat to sleep until 9:30. I then dragged out of bed, found caffeine, and plopped in front of the TV while Alan did something constructive. Meanwhile I discovered the badness of spending too much time looking down while sitting on the floor wrapping the teeth, as my neck has this icky crick in is, my shoulders are all sorts of tight and I also have this sore bit to my lower back on the left hand side. pooh. Hot shower and some Vitamin I downed and later I am off to go meet Gina at this place we are looking at for my wedding. I was on time and then I realized that I was so groggy when I got home the night before that I still needed to unload Scarlett. So, I open up the hatch, but I didn't pack my basket very well on Sat. night apparently because it and its contents came falling down and spilling on the driveway. Now this wasn't all that bad, except I broke my pretty gree nPlease Touch mug. damn damn damn damn... so I had to unpack and then clean that up, and well, it took longer than I planned and therefore I was late meeting Gina. She says she's gonna make damn sure I'm on time for my wedding, dammit! sigh. I'm not always hideously late, only 5 mins, but oh well.

We poke around this place, fall in love with all the little details, get more info, and then head off to meet Mel and Laura to head to David's Bridal, wedding dress hell, for a nice big try on session. I hate this place, I really do, but they have the most styles in stock in my size so I can try them all on and see how horrible they all look or don't. Sheath- so not me. Ballgown- makes me look stupid. The poor ladies couldn't understand why were were all laughing, they must have thought I looked perfectly gaudy. Dropped waist on me bunches up, all their try on bras are woefully inadequate, it seems that all the shoulder straps would need shortening. We found this lovely, snicker, dress that was a mix of looking like a WWF champ belt of sequins and Ming the Merciless pointy off the shoulders madness. There was also the stupid, wanna be medieval fairy princess with chiffon bell sleeves, I think not! But after an hour and a half, we did find a style that looked pretty good and three dresses roughly in that style. Nothing of what I really wanted, but at least enough information to go with and look elsewhere and narrow my style search. I confess that none of them were so overwhelming I wanted to take one home then and there. Laura faithfully helped me get dressed and undressed several times that day, cause, really you need help for this stuff, and Gina was the photographer and Mel and Gina made up our peanut gallery. They also spent their time, when I was in the room changing, critiquing the bride next to me and her bridesmaid's outfits, and such. I came out once to see Mel in a tiara and Gina with a silly veil on. Don't buy the accessories at David's, they'll rob you blind. So after that fun adventure, and the incompetent staff, "Um, hello, could you please take these rejects away?", we finally blew that popsicle stand and left Gina to go check and make sure her house was still standing, and Mel, Laura and I went back to Laura's place to wait for Bob to get off the computer and Alan to come on by. We then went out to Clyde's for dinner, well really we went for the chocolate mousse, but the other food was damn good too. Apparently Alan didn't get the black leather jacket memo as everyone else had one on. tee hee hee. Oddly enough Mel, Laura and I all ordered the same dinner of filet mignon which was very yummy, especially the horseradish potatos so everyone said. In typical form, Laura gave me half of her steak when she was done with it and she couldn't have found a more willing recipient. :) Afterwards we went back to BnL's, listened to some old albums on their new turn table and then Alan rubbed Laura's shoulders while Bob was tough on mine. Ah, yes, I like it rough. Er, or something... We eventually headed home to bed, and I lay on the heating pad for a bit, make the muscles loose....

And that my friends was my weekend.


So, I finally got fed up enough that I hadn't seen the Harry Potter movie that I blasted out of work early yesterday, zoomed by to check on Garibaldi (damn that cat is regular), and zoomed to the theater ten minutes late to catch the 6:15 showing of HP so that I could be home to catch the second half of Angel. Alan loves me, he even had the TV set to the right station and turned on so I could swoop into the comfy chair and watch TV as soon as I got home.

So, Harry Potter, wow, what a great movie. I really recommend seeing it. It was faithful to the book in nature and general feel. The story was chopped in a few places, but come on, they had to, it's a movie, and it was already 2.5 hours long or longer. I think they did a very good job with it, can't wait for the next one. And I will have to go back and see it again, this time probably dragging Alan to it.

Now, I will confess that the book was way better than the movie, although how could it not be. The books are so good and contain so much detail that they had to chop some of it out, quite understandably, but still the books, way better. This only encourages my "see the movie, then read the book" mentality though. Nothing can live up to books, unless you do a 5 hours mini series like Pride and Prejudice, and you can't do that with every movie. I'll keep on seeing the movies to get a general picture and enjoy the basic story and then read the books if I am so inclined to boost the story and charcters.

well, that's about it. I wonder what other odd Google searches my pages come up under?

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next