Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

What do the hands of the dead feel like?
2001-09-20 - 5:02 p.m.

Stiff hands. I don't know what I did last night, but for some reason the knife edge of my right hand and the area of the palm right there is all swollen and sore. Vitamin I hasn't seemed to do any good yet. Perhaps another dose is in order. Last one was at lunch time. I guess I could try an ice pack to stop the swelling, but really, what's the point, my hands are already like ice. I just got back from the bathroom running them under hot water to heat them up a bit. They are red and glowy right now, which I hope lasts for the last hour of work. Of course since I rest my palms on the special ergonomic keyboard, I'm irritating my palm even more. sigh.

Y'see, I love chilly weather. i love bundling up in frumpy sweaters, and jeans and wool socks and big insulated shoes. I love the chill of the wind on my face when the rest of me is snuggly and warm. I love fire in the fireplace and the hint that it might snow. With all this you'd think I'd love my workplace. They keep it a nice fall temp of 60-something all the time to satiate the heat-producing portable blast furnace that is our head developer. Of course he's out on baby leave. hmmm... But at the workplace I can bundle up in sweaters, and such, but it is hard to type with gloves on. I guess I need a pair of the fingerless gloves. That would make a statement, wouldn't it.

Despite Xenephon's claims, my ass is not always cold as death, just happened to be that one really cold night at Gulf Wars. Usually I'm cold natured, but not that cold, but thanks to my poor circulation that I inherited from Mom, my extremities get colder faster. Mainly, my nose, hands and feet. I can wear wool socks to warm my feet. I can blow my warm breath in my hands and on my nose to warm that up. But it seems that no matter what I do, I can't get my hands warm. Sometimes the cold seems to laugh at gloves. Of course when my hands get cold, they get stiff. Which means they make louder noises when I crack my knuckles, but they also hurt more. All in all, it's not a positive thing for the Gen. Perhaps if I got off my ever spreading ass and went to the gym a little, my overall circulation might improve. oh well, no time for that, since I keep staying up late to sew I can't get up early to work out. Vicous cycle it is.

So, last night, I swung by the really crappy Jo-Ann's in the Greenbelt plaza and got some blue serger thread to do the edges of the hood pieces that will actually show when the hood is down. I also got new scissors since the ones that made their way back from Kymber's are dull and I don't know why, nor do I have the time to get them sharpened. Maybe I was trying to go through too many layers of fabric... I also got a green travel pillow that was on sale for Alan's truck, and some other little stuff. When I got home I started playing with stuff, and ended up getting the curve to QPM's sideless top trimmed and pinned, neckline as well, and cut out and serged three of the seven hoods, and I rounded off the edges of the lovely embroidered roses Theo made for the LiW hoods. They should be nice and patch like, easy to whip stitch or blind hem stitch on. QPM called while working at Theo's place and I had her double check measurements I had eyeballed and they are perfect. When you're good, you're good. We also discussed her outfit for the Pilgrim's Tale event. It should look really cool, and she will do the under tunic so I can "focus" on the outer tunic. She will look smashing though, absolutely smashing. She ordered the linen today, so it should be fun to work on when it gets here. Must stay focused, must finish current projects. I of course did not touch the rest of my projects, except to pick up some thin gold colored thread for hopefully couching the purple trim to the black padded roll. That could look really neat. Baby steps, each night baby steps.

Damn, half an hour later and hands back to being cold and stiff. I hope I'm not useless at the folding party tonight. I can always endeavor to be entertaining. Riding down with QPM, my only willing victim for tonight. I tried to drum up more support Gwen, I'm sorry.

Oh well, short-ish entry today then. Later!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next