Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Off to War!!! Gulf that is...
2001-03-08 - 15:48:16

Dude, I hate Vard. He sends something to the staff list for 20 year and I click on the link and it completely erases all the work I had done on this damn post.... grrr... I blame Vard, that damn Anne!

Final post before Gulf Wars!!! Look for more from me after the 18th...

So, tomorrow after the morning rush hour we are wheels up and on the road down south to a good ole time in New Orleans and at Gulf Wars! It is going to rock. I still have to pack, but I got those damn dividing walls done last night. Too bad I won't get to the block printing designs on them, but oh well. This way Jake and Gwen and decorate the Thornbury blue walls however they want too.

Yesterday after work I go shopping with Wendy. I had two goals, to find new/replacement shoes for my off-roading clogs and to get a swim suit for hot tubbing at my Aunt's place. Two goals. So Sadly Kohls has sold out of the comfy guy versions of these off roading clogs/shoes and I am a bit bitter. But then I found $10 Vans in my size. With my luck Vans are likely not passe, but I liked them, and for $10 who's gonna argue. They make me feel like fifteen anyway since they make my feet look stubby. :) After spending too much time in the shoe dept. then we moved on to the dreaded swim suit shopping. This is every girls' nightmare, by the way. Guys can walk in to a store, find the right size and buy off the rack. How luxurious... Women? We have to find every single suit in the entire store that is in our size, even if ugly as hell on the off chance that one of them might have a prayer of fitting and not making us look either cow like or other forms of hideous. :( So, finally after trying on all sorts, I do find a suit that is as close to perfect as I'm gonna get pre-suit season. Even better it is a tankini! 'Cause every girl who doesn't have a bikini body knows the pain of stripping off a wet suit to use the ladies room and them the agony of trying to get it back on and not look lumpy or retarded or otherwise embarassing. With a tankini you get the benifits of the two piece without the embarassing baring of the belly. I dig it baby. Mind you I had to do a bit of swapping pieces of different sizes to get the appropriately sized top and bottom since I'm not text book and I only feel a little guilty about it. So, for under $75 I left Kohls with a suit and two pairs of shoes.

Since Wendy and I are gluttons for punishment, we decide to head to the Target next door to see if they had the shoes I was looking for. Yes, folks, that's right, I had just bought two pairs of shoes and was looking to buy more. Deal with it. Well, Target had the shoes I wanted, but too big. I needed a men's size 7 and the smallest they had was a 7.5. That sucks. But the trip wasn't completely without merit. After running around rampant in the store I ended up with a PPG pillow case (not the entire sheet set 'cause I like Alan and try not to torture him too much) and a PPG little floppy pink and plaid reversible hat. I'm wearing it as I type even. So finally we head back to my place for chicken ceasar salad and a bit of girlie chatting. For his own health, Alan was at fighter practice so he didn't have to be subjected to any of this estrogen poisoning. Hey, it was Wendy's idea to go shopping.

So, after Wendy leaves I remember that I had planned to finishe hemming the walls and do laundry and perhaps some other sewing. Mind you Wendy didn't leave until 10:30ish, since we took too long shopping. So instead of getting ready for bed I settle down for sewing and such and Alan comes home and starts the laundry. I did get most everything done with three loads of laundry, one still in the dryer, hemmed the final three 10 ft long walls and worked on sizing down my middle eastern for war. Of course I didn't get to bed until 2am and I am giddy with lack of sleep, but who cares.

We are off to Last Chance tonight to have a few drinks, and pick up Laura's stuff and some stuff for Tara as well. I haven't packed at all, and I have tons of stuff to pack. Pavilion stuff, my super spiff dividing walls that make BdeB green with envy, enough garb for a clothes horse like myself, modern clothes, coolers, toiletries, towel, bed, futon mattress, sheets and blankets and pillows, tables and chairs, sewing basket and projects to play with, some limited feast gear, wet ones, accessories and mirror box, money, and I think that is mostly it. We'll buy perishable food etc. down in Hattiesburg, MS instead of toting it with us like last year. And there will be no screaming baby. Maybe if y'all are good children I'll tell you the story about the screaming baby from last year. **shudder**

Our story will be back after these messages...

So, swim suit shopping and walking up and down the stairs to the cafeteria reminded me of something. See, folks, poor Gen grew up endowed, and I don't mean in a trust fund kinda way. Yes, despite what all the men think, it is a merffing curse. So today on teh stairs I was reminded of my special walk I developed for going up and down stairs. Being the self conscious and insecure person that I am, I try to attract as little unwanted attention as possible. Being that the girls bounce, stairs presented a problem for unwanted attention, so I developed this special walk. It is mostly using the knees and ankles to absorb all the shock so that the upper body remains mostly motionless. It seems to work as far as I an tell. Now most folks don't think about it, but I merfing do, and I caught myself slipping into this walk on the stairs this morning. This goes perfect with my double-bagging it theory of working out, which I have not managed to do this week since I stayed up late sewing...

So, today I am getting in touch with my inner teenager. Don't get me wrong, I'm not trying to revert cause adolesence was hard on me like it was for the rest of us. But, since I am a bit more assured and confident, I think I'd do much better in High School now, but I guess that must be part of the trials of growing up. If I knew then what I know now... But, back to being a kid. So, I am wearing my new aformentioned Vans whta make my feet look stubby, and my cute little PPG hat (shane is so emabarrassed to be seen around me) and in general feeling rather childish and young at heart. Dig it baby, I feel cool, even though I likely look like a real 'tard, I just don't care since I am having fun.:)

So, Genie sent me her diaryland url and you'll just have to check out my profile to find her. ;) evil, I know. Genie is one super cool chick man. I often wished I could be as cool as she is. Once again, if you are good little childrens I might just tell you the story of how I chose my SCA name. ;)

Well, I should get some work done before I head off for almost two weeks. I'll see you after the Bourbon St. drunkeness and war sunburn and bad medieval food and 36 hours in a car with three other people and visiting my aunt and uncle...

Peace!

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next