Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Crusades and the joy that is LibraryThing
2005-10-13 - 10:52 a.m.

Okay, I'm hooked too.  Waiting for the paid account to kick in so I can catalog more...  Library Thing is the the bomb.  It is also letting me get reacquainted with some of my books.  "Oh, I forgot about you!  How silly of me."  Maybe eventually we might really organize our shelves instead of the where-the-books-fit method we have now.  :)  I have to say that the wireless internet is crucial for this, since I could take the laptop to the costume books, instead of the other way around.  I've got costuming books in the sewing room, weaving/knitting/nalbinding books in the string room, art books in the living room, and I haven't even ventured to the fiction in the basement.  And I'm entirely skipping Alan's books on philosophy, warfare, Rumpole, sci-fi, etc.  Either he can create his own account, or I'll let him add his to mine in time.

I've been battling all day sinus(?) headache lately.  Had it all day yesterday, made me virtually worthless.  It's starting this morning, which is not pleasing me.  Dunno if it is weather or what.  I've found myself clenching my jaw more lately too which can't help.  grr...

Crusades was a bit damp.  But I actually ended up having a decent time.  Got to chat some with Anne, Melisent, Orianna, the Adorables, and folks in cabins.  Got some business out of the way.  Went to the Spanish Peacock and got a beautiful beech sprang loom.  The down side, as I told Miguel in email, is that the loom is so pretty I'm not being terribly productive because I'm caught by the shiney aspect.  Admire the pretty loom, now must use the pretty loom.  I've already got most of another pouch done, so I just need to finish it off.  I got to sprang geek with some folks from the East, hang out some with the Arielle, some with the Bera and her sister, check out the groovy A&S, chat and hang with Helmut and Kathall, and in general have a good time whilst staying out of the rain.  It was smaller, true, but still entertaining.  The main irritation was the Eastern R-MIC who asked us to move our tent to the other side of the gully while we were setting it up.  Let me get this straight, you don't want us to put a tent where we traditionally have always had tents on the edge of the rapier field, which happens to be a piece of land that is draining well.  The alternative that you impolitely suggest is that we move to the other side of the gully, the low side of the gully so when the gully overflows, it will run right into our tent? And the odds are that you aren't even going to fight outside, or if you do your numbers will be sparse?  sigh.  We moved it and had to pick up everything that wasn't furniture off the ground so it wouldn't sit in a puddle of water.  eh.  When we were finally done with the event, Alan and Kynny took down the tent, and we boogied off-site around 3:30pm. 

While the invitation to the Bandes gathering at Carla's was tempting, the need to hang out the tent to dry at home, and the possible fire in the fireplace won out.  Once we got home we unpacked the truck and set stuff out to dry.  Gen, in a rare moment of clarity, found a solution to getting the center of the tent off of the ground to improve air flow for drying.  Alan's attempts to prop up a pole fell flat when we tried to spread out the canvas from there.  I saw a hook in the ceiling, so taking an extra piece of rope put a figure eight stop knot in one end, ran the other up through the center grommet, over the hook and then a cow hitch to hold it in place.  Then we used the sawhorses under each corner to spread it out and a heater/fan did the rest.  hooray for empty garage.  We then napped, read, watched movies, and I played with the new sprang loom. 

Sunday was a leisurely morning, and then a showing of Serenity with the AoD, her Bob, Val and Arielle, which is still an awesome movie.  Afterwards we went to Ruby Tuesday's with V&A and chatted for a while, drawing a map of Columbia, and trying to figure out the area for them.  It was a good time, but eventually we had to go so I could head off to the Storvik Business Mtg to pass off stuff to Llyr.  Hooray, freedom. 

Hmm... running out of steam... need more excedrin...

Those who missed fighting at Crusades, this weekend is Storvik's Baronial B'day in Croom MD, which will have some melee fun.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next