Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

a tisket, a tasket, Gen made a basket...
2005-10-07 - 12:56 a.m.

Othello was totally worthy.  The actress playing Amelia totally stole the show though.  The rest of the cast was great, but she was superb.  If you have the time, money and inclination, go see it.  Assuming it won't depress you.  Random dinner out at a Seafood Restaurant participating in the Dine for America program was lovely before the play.  Great service, excellent food, Alan had a good martini and the decor was pretty groovy too.  Unfortunately now I think of the place as McCormick and Smeewick instead of McCormick and Schmick's.

This weekend was University down in Jacksonville, NC.  I had hoped to take Coptic Sprang, but spent the afternoon making a basket instead.  Basket weaving was lots of fun, and we got plenty of instructor time since there was only one other student.  Hooray for the fabulous Mistress Caroline.  Had a fun drive down and back with Ynes/Lisa where we string geeked and stuff for the entire drive.  Didn't even bother with music.  We had dinner out with Thjora, Clare and Helmut.

Got to see Serenity with Alan on Sunday night.  Truly loved it, go see it.  I need to find time for a second showing since I hear you catch more the second time around.  That and it's Cap'n Hotpants, who wouldn't.  I have to say that some of the costume changes from the series were a bit distracting, but that could be because it wasn't what I was expecting.  Loved the River elaboration.  Hope there is a sequel down the road.

Okay, lame update, but there you go.  How about pictures instead?

The finished Market Basket, and it is now holding various string related projects.  It was tons of fun, enough to make me look twice at the Basket Maker's catalog.  But despite the fact that it is called weaving, reeds are decidedly not like string!
Market Basket 10/1 

At Pennsic I learned Sprang from the Oddny.  It's totally addictive.  So here's my first piece made in cotton thread.  It works perfectly as for holding a bottle of Mike's:
First Sprang

Here's my second piece of sprang in a groovy white wool.  I also tried a smaller lavender cotton to work some patterns in.  I switch from S to Z twist for entire blocks of rows, with a little open sprang in the middle:
2nd sprang and patterned

I also used up some old yellow wool Main Line yarn I had laying around.  So here's a nice pouch and a little skinny pouch which holds my glasses case.  whoohoo!
Yellow Sprang

And finally playing with some fisherman's wool (the only 100% wool you can get at Michael's), I tried other patterns:
Patterned Sprang

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next