Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

V'Ermine Land Grab
2005-08-09 - 2:51 p.m.


Land Grab for Vair and Ermine went surprisingly well, especially considering the hoo-ha with the other land agents via email the weeks before, and that I only had 2.5ish hours of sleep. 

See, I decide to pack the trucks leisurely on Friday night and get up insanely early on Sat morning and drive up in time for the meeting and signing off on the plan.  So, going to bed at 11pm, (meant to be 10, but I braided my hair and snuggled my sweetie) I set my alarm clock for an alarming 2:15am.  I toss and turn a bit but sometime in the middle of the night our power went out with the storms so I wake up in shock to no green glow of alarm clock time and the fan not going (big clues of the lack of power.)  Alan wakes up and checks the time for me, 1:50am. I tried to nap for another 25 minutes, but it just didn't work.  So I get up, stumble around in the dark dressing, last stuff packing and getting out the door around 3am, using cell phone and flash lights to ensure I don't break anything, toes, items or otherwise.  Naturally, the power came back on as I kissed Alan good-bye before getting on the road.  sigh.  So, I leave at 3am, I normally count on 5ish hours to War, arriving 8-8:30, in time to troll in and meet up with the other N18ers.  In actuality, I got to Pennsic (with only one stop) at 7:30am, with more than plenty of time to Troll in and meet up with folks.  Considering that one year I got in just under the gun, I wasn't chancing it this time. 

So, there was socializing, planning, chocolate donuts, waiting around, and we finally got signed off on our block at 9:30, measured out by 10am and at 10:10am I was marking out the placement of the tents in our little plot and the access road to single camping.  Alan and Tara pull up at 10:30am, and we start spreading out canvas and continue marking stuff out while I re-work the back of camp due to minor changes to the plot of land given and water point.  At one point we realize that we can't do anything else since poles and ropes for common tent are in trailer, garage is in trailer, ropes for our tent in trailer... etc.  You get the point.  We have canvas tops and nothing else to complete setting up anything.  Just as we were getting bored, the Morgensterns with trailer arrive and we are a happy bunch.  By the end of the day, with a crew of 6, we had 5 tents in the air (10x10, 16x16, 18x18, 18x24, and 12x12), all of camp laid out, all of camp furniture assembled, water run, sump mostly dug, kitchen assembled, personal tents assembled, set-up and made ready for living, and a good mental start on the kitchen herb garden.  And we ran to town for dinner, Lowes and Walmart runs.  By 1pm on Sunday we had showers (decadent showers), decorations hung, sheet wall assembled, garden set-up, garage neatly arranged, and we had reached the point of afternoon naps, looking at the class listings and catching up with Mudd from Grey Fox.  We got on the road to come back home at 3pm knowing that the camp was well set-up, and would be ready for us to return at the end of this week.

So that was the V'Ermine land grab, surprisingly uneventful and extremely productive.  Although I am told I need to get more parsley for the herb garden.  I'd love to weave a wattle fence for it, but we'll see what actually happens in the next two nights.  Hope everyone else is all set up and ready to go.  And if you're not going, pppbbbtttt!!!! on you for bailing. We could have used your company and your spaces.  :P

On the other hand, fun fun quiz, with surprising results.  I always figured myself a bit more Kaylee, only without the mechanical inclinations.

Zoe
You are Zoe. While most others see you as a
stone-cold bitch and yes.woman to the captain,
you can be both a loving wife and quite
emotional - though you never let it show.

Which Firefly character are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next