Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

an update, of a sort
2005-08-04 - 5:07 p.m.

Okay, Slacker Non-Updater here, reporting for duty, or something.

Let's take it in reverse order and see where we get instead of me trying to recount all of Bermuda and running out of steam...

I've had a persistent sinusy headache for the past week and a half, and it is really irritating/ pissing me off.  I'm not normally a headache person, so treatment options are baffling me.  Sore wrist, I can read.  Sore back, I can still do crafty stuff. Headache, not much to do but sleep it off, or try to.  So, if this isn't as lucid as you wish it to be blame my brain.

Last weekend was some house cleaning, a Costco run, some sewing, and the best of all, dancing with the AoD at Orpheus in Baltimore.  She was all super glamour goth girl in her Betty Page hair and spider web body suit.  I was a bit more punky- funky braided hair in a twist, she-devil tank top, denim skort with pockets, tall boots, you get the picture.  Was running late so the most make-up I had was mascara and lipstick.  Still, we showed up, people watched, danced, got hit on by little blonde kid, drank a little, and had a great time.  I confess that at first I had an adverse reaction thinking of Cesca, and the culture of self-destruction.  Part of me wanted to scream, but a potty break and some dancing helped.  There was the funny little kid who danced practically the whole time with his sunglasses on.  There was scary large guy in white with a painted face, and other folks to oogle.  The punk dude who was moshing in his own private idaho was actually really rocking.  The only thing that freaked me out was the old couple who sat at the bar and watched everyone else laciviously.  Noticing the large quotient of underage folks, we made sure to tip the bartender well, and as a bonus he watched our stuff as we danced.  I got home around 2am still wired so stayed up til 3am cleaning and reading a bit to settle down.

The weekend before last was Assessment and a 3 Peer event.  First was the Christian placed on vigil, then the Idonea and finally we got Otto in court.  I got to help out a bit with the hospitality, and bring down loot from the Theo who couldn't make it.  The food was fabulous, the set-ups amazing, the company beyond compare, and the candidates glowing.  Got it to visit the Idonea around 2am, and Christian around 4am.  Don't remember being inspiring, so I probably wasn't.  I did feel bad that Alan and I had a miscommunication.  He went back to the truck to nap and said something to me like "Come get me when it is time to go", I interpreted this as when it is time to leave site, not when it is time to visit the Christian.  Bad Gen, no biscuit.  Other main complaint was the humidity was so bad I just left the glasses off.  They wouldn't unfog, and fighting the fog was futile, so I just gave up.

Saturday morning dawned too early, but we made it to site for the courts and I finished my new roman outfit.  Idonea was glowing, or it could have been the humidity, and I got to handle the cloak part of the ceremony with the lovely Benefse.  Christian's ceremony was wonderful, touching with the blending of the two household lineages, gentle yet fierce as Chris can be.  For the rest of the day I visited with friends, did the hair of 4 lovely ladies, joined Her Majesty at a Tea, bought some trim for my new Roman outfit, and just hung out and ahd a good time.  Court was lovely at the end, but parts of it really irritated me.  I must have just been in an irritable mood, what with the heat and all.  Otto's ceremony was simple yet obviously touched him deeply to have so many of the Pelicans announce him as their equal in that order of service.  It was nice to be a part of that.  That evening we went out to dinner with Chris, Bera, Liam, and Thjora and ran into Val's group and had tasty food whilst feeling a bit squarshed in our booth.  Boy I need to work on enunciation next time I talk to Dagonet, he heard me very wrong.  It was great to get quality time with the Chris and Bera on such a busy filled weekend.

The weekend before that was theoretically a trip to go sailing to Rock Hall, MD.  Well, it would have been lovely if there had been any wind.  As it was we motored to Rock Hall and back, much to my dismay.  We did get to test out the AC on the new boat, I got to swim in the little pool, we ate lots of seafood and wandered around the downtown area, did a bit of shopping, and got a tour on the trolley for breakfast.  It was relaxing and we got to chill, but it wasn't all it could have been.  sigh. 

Now we get to Bermuda.

But before Bermuda was Kim and Duane's wedding.  Okay, we missed the wedding ceremony.  Color me pissed.  We walked up just as the blushing bride and dashing groom were greeting guests for the recessional.  They both looked lovely, but we were so angry at the evil traffic between DC and Richmond that made us miss it.  Curses.  In with the Gandhi, out with the Hitler...  But they were happily married, there were many witnesses and participants, and all was well.  After some greetings of folks, we left for the reception at Pocohantas State Park, slightly giggling at remembering the last event we were there for a Crown where we got kicked off site.  We changed into casual clothes and had excellent food, yummy drinks, wonderful company, great music, fun dancing, and all kinds of a groovy time.  It was so fun we didn't want to leave.  Finally we kicked the tired newlyweds out the door with a sprinkler shower, sent them on their way, and cleaned up the site.  It was true SCA Magic site cleaning in action.  Everyone chipped in and it was spotless when we left it not half an hour later.  We then got on the road back home to DC and I think Alan and I packed until it was time for bed.

Now we get to Bermuda...  nope, sorry, ran out of time...  :D

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next