Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Musical weekend
2005-06-28 - 4:52 p.m.

Happy 35th Anniversary to my fabulous parents!  Mad props to longevity and twu wuv.

I'm feeling a snobby observation/rant coming on...  Let me see if I can put it off by regaling you with the boring escapades of my weekend.

Friday night, accompanied by the fabulous AoD (despite the fact that I was a total 'tard-bum and forgot to call to cement plans) I headed to downtown DC to the Lutheran Church of the Reformation snuggled in nicely behind the Capitol to listen to my sister's choral concert.  After circling the block once in search of parking, I got a spot right across the street by the Folger's Shakespeare Library.  (Had to taunt the big sis that she was so close to Shakespeare heaven, and yet had no time to visit.  neener neener neener...)  The Church was very beautiful, and yet completely different styles inside and out.  Lovely stained glass in blue hues.  They even had painted the decorative beam ceiling in a very Elizabethan era manner, with all sorts of designs to really add richness to the whole place.  Since we got there early, we got to spend a few minutes gazing at the beauty of the surroundings.  And unlike you boys would have, I didn't just stare at the AoD the entire time.  The concert was wonderful.  The 76 person choir from Hickory NC did some very complicated pieces, one I really remembered from Confirmation so I had to look it up the in the LBW (Lutheran Book of Worship; Hymnal and services all in one.)  They did a new song Oseh Shalom arranged by an artist from the Church of the Reformation, as well as a stirring version of The Dream Isaiah Saw with fabulous brass and percussion.  Isobel got all nostalgic for her times with large choirs, since lately it seems to be 7-15 person groups.

Noting Clint's absence, I met up with Jodi and found out that the fabulous brother-in-law got the night off and was at Dave and Buster's.  I told her that we are so there, and so we tooled out to Bethesda and met up for drinks, dessert, chatting, zombie shooting, skee ball, slots and all manner of fun games.  It was great to get a taste of family before the vacation in a week.  I got to see recent pictures of my cute nieces.  Isobel and I got to shoot at the evil zombies until our hands hurt, and all was well.  We got back home around 1am, and I, having no Saturday morning plans, stayed up reading until 2am.

Saturday was Challenge of the Heart in Dun Carraig.  I sent Alan off to go play with the boys at the event while I slept in until 10am, read some, went shopping for the baby shower and went to said baby shower.  It was great fun to hook up with the former co-workers for an afternoon.  There was lots of pink in balloons, gifts and decorations.  There were silly shower games, good food, great cake, funny toddlers, cute babies to play with and wonderful conversation.  While it took longer than the allotted time, every minute of it was worth it.  Afterwards I went shopping for a bit, and then home to read, nap etc.  In retrospect, I kinda wished I had gone to the event.  The pictures look like fun, I'd have been able to hang out with a different group of friends, and the pageantry was pretty cool.  The boys seemed to have fun too.  Of course in reality I would have been too hot, spent too much time futzing with making the tent space look good and stuff to have had as much fun at the boys did.  That and the amount of stuff taken for just one more person (moi) would have doubled the stuff in the truck.  I'm high maintenance stuff wise, I always pack too much, except when I don't and I forget a towel...  Besides I got to be all pink and girlie and shopping and relaxing instead.  Sir Angus's worst nightmare for his daughter.
That night, after the boys cooled down and cleaned up, we went out to a late dinner at Outback which had tasty food, but the service was lacking at times.  We sleepy monkeys retired fairly early (considering the 9pm dinner time) and crashed in bed before midnight. 

Sunday saw the boys back to Southern MD for the war practice while I headed up to the recording studio.  Isobel did a good recap of that experience.  I had serious butterflies in my stomach in the morning, and all the night before apparently from my tossing and turning.  It was grueling, and yet fun at the same time.  It was nice to have done, but not something I could do everyday.  But when it all came together it was magic, let me tell you.  And I am content in that they can always dial me back/cut me out if I truly suck, so I won't ruin others' hard work.  Afterwards we went out for some mad sushi, which was like manna from heaven at 3pm, having eaten nothing but fruit so far in the day.  And let me tell you, I put away some really tasty sushi.  Afterwards I tried to swing by Deadalus Books, but my heart just wasn't in it.  So I headed home, took some excedrin for the headache and napped for about an hour til Alan got home from the war practice.  We sat and read and relaxed that evening and I caught the 3rd installment of Into the West on TNT. 

Last night was more shopping, specifically looking for a swimsuit for the cruise (which I found! yay!), and meeting up with folks at Storvik fighter practice.  I only wanted to stay for a few minutes to pick up something from Colin, but instead I stayed until after 8pm chatting with folks like the rarely seen Andrew, Sorcha, Vlad, and Angus, and taking care of some Storvik business, and pimping for donations for the fighter practice site, and stuff.  It was fun, and productive, but didn't get me home until closer to 9pm since I stopped off at Hard Times to pick up dinner for Alan and I.

Tonight is walking the Labyrinth at the Washington Cathedral and tooling about the fabulous rose gardens if the rain holds off.

Whew, that recap has knocked the snobby rant right out of me...  thank goodness...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next