Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Sapphire...
2005-06-02 - 5:15 p.m.


The new Sapphire Joust site is a very good thing.  I loved the proximity of everything, that the field was close to camping, was close to bathrooms, was close to shopping, wasn't too far to get the truck from parking...  This new site at Tom Scott Park is faboo and should definitely be an investment for the future.  I was also very pleased that it was within 5 miles of a Food Lion, and really wasn't that far from Richmond proper.  I think it took us 3 hours each way from our spot in MD, with short stops.  There was even an Outback on our way home on Sunday that was a major blessing.

We arrived on site on Saturday morning before 10am, and got our tent set up just in time to get most stuff out of the rain.  We had folks to help us set up, so everything went really quickly and smoothly, even if the staking wasn't quite to my normal standards.  The tent stayed up, so I guess that is all that matters.  Once set up, and I got out of my overalls and monkey bandana, I spent most of the day fingerloop braiding an insanely fine (gauge, small thread) and long medallion cord.  Folks came to visit, and I had plenty of company, but my crazy project meant that I missed shopping and the A&S and stuff.  And ohh did my hands need to stretch when I finally finished.  But I got to steal the King's crown from the Chiv meeting and get it fixed and polished by Blackwood and returned before said meeting was over.  I got to help a few ladies with veils and circlets in Blackwood's shop as he did said repair and polishing.  But astonishingly I didn't make a single merchant purchase the entire event.  I guess leaving the wallet in the tent was a good money control technique.

Court was actually entertaining on Saturday night.  Certainly the anticipation of several awards made it a bit more so, and I had the fan of power and another little mouse to work on.  So I was thrilled at Elspet's Pearl, Evil Bob's Dolphin, Grendel's Dolphin, and most especially by Kynny's Dolphin.  I am just sad that his lovely wife missed it.  There were other cool awards that are lost to my feeble brain at the moment.  I also had the fun company of Theo and Isobel, and the front row peanut gallery comments.  Seeing Roland trying to sneak by the back of court in armour was too darn funny, and he actually managed to be mostly silent.  One major court critique though, don't have court back the road, or have guards stand at either ends halting vehicles.  That was kinda distracting, especially on Sunday morning.

Saturday night dinner was a Corby stir-fry of yummy foods, and I had back up red beans and rice.  Of course most folks bailed at the last minute, so there was way too much food for the people left and we had to find a way to get rid of it.  Sadly a bunch of it found the trash.  But those remaining had a lovely dinner with great company and pleasant seating, I dare say.  Clean up even wasn't too bad at all.  I am still eating red beans and rice though.

Afterwards, the Vair and Ermine vigil service was called to emergency again.  Our table, benches and chairs were nearby and more easily grabbed for Alianor's vigil hospitality than running down the hill to the Sacred Stone octagon.  I also usurped the decoration of the vigil tent, which I hope folks didn't mind.  here's some lighting...  oh, this would make a lovely backdrop...  ack, that chair has no cushions!...  if we arrange it just so it is more intimate and you don't have to work around the pole....  you get the gist.  I know, I'm neurotic, but occasionally helpful.  And luckily, morning collection of loaned items was quick and easy too.  I had fun hanging out at the vigil and visiting sweet Alianor, and then hanging with folks under our shade until sleep bested Alan, and then I went on to hang a bit at the BdeB bardic circle.  I had wanted to sing, but I left music back at the tent, and with allergies I'd have sounded less like music and more like a frog, a little less Gwen Stefani and a little more Joan Jett.  But the ambiance was nice and fun. 

Sunday morning I awoke way too early, I think I was afraid I'd oversleep, so I was up at 6:30am.  My attempts to shower were thwarted by lines, but I managed to put my hair up and out of the way and wash my face.  Had a PTA shower as Monya would say.  Then I boogied out to the grocery store to get stuff for the shower, and got back with McD's breakfast for my sweet Alan, and food stuffs to set out for the shower.  We spent an hour rearranging the tent from sleeping and setting it up to be wild women ready.  We had plenty of seating, lots of sweets, a few presents, and lots of mimosas.  Hooray the Bera!  We actually got invaded by some laurels killing time before the ceremony, but I offered them mimosas and told them to wish Chris and Bera well on their upcoming nuptials.  They all had the grace and decency to be appreciative and respectful at the same time.  And the shower, with a brief interlude for court, was, I think, a success.  When we began to wind down, we then headed on down the hill for Her Majesty's tea.  But it was lacking one thing...  mimosas!  So since I had extras, I brought the remaining mimosas down to the tea, which means I didn't have to drink it all myself.  :)

After shower and tea, because we are scadians, we had too much food leftover.  So, I took the first dozen donuts around the field to fighters and other participants.  You should have seen His Majesty's eyes light up when I presented them to him.  Then I went to work on the second dozen donuts, which also quickly found homes in other peoples bellies.  I think the napkins with sticky glazed donuts were the crowning achievement in many folks eyes.  Sorry, it is just part of my wiring, wrong though it may be.  We packed up after court with the help of many fine friends, and some really nice Storviki.  I awed Elizabeth with my canvas folding fu, but again I'm just wired wrong that way.  Canvas has to be folded right!  We were on the road and to the Outback for an early dinner and home by 10ish.  We then had to unpack a significant portion of the truck since I realized all my drugs were nicely buried and I'd need them that night.

My main complaint about the event (aside from the way the site went through TP like it was going out of style) was the icky pollen and dust.  Oh my, I spent way too much time on antihistamines, which means that poor Alan, despite a long day of fighting, had to drive all the way home because I was really out of it.  And I mean really out of it.  I slept until 11am on Monday, and needed it. 



Okay, I do have one more gripe, but it has nothing to do with the way the fine event was run.  My friends, I love you, I really do, but we need to set ground rules.  Ask in advance instead of assuming we have space for you in our tent.  Contribute in some way if we are providing shade, bring food to share, furniture, etc.  Help with set-up and take down if possible. 
For those who helped with set-up and break down, brought furniture, asked in advance for shelter and who fed us and the others under the shade, you have my undying appreciation. 
For those few folks who didn't do any of the above, think about it next time and contribute somehow.  This only works if everybody chips in.  You do not want to wear out your welcome with me.
Oh, and the gear in the common tent has to be reassessed.  Pack your gear so that it is waterproof and can live out the back of the tent.  On Sat, we had far too many people in need of the shade to use that space for fighting gear that then had the fighters crawling over the civilians to get to their stuff.  We need to not assume that there will be enough space in the changing area for everyone's mundane looking stuff.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next