Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

string and allergy things
2005-05-20 - 2:26 p.m.

There were pine nuts in my pasta pesto sauce. Makes me think of Theo. Who should be back stateside by now. Hooray!

Nalbinding 101 class went okay. Despite the nice zen nature of the string art, it was total chaos trying to teach 8 (okay 7, Violante was just there for the company) ladies how to do a fairly unintuitive string art that is best taught one on one. Must do follow-up session for those who don't get completely frustrated by the first night. I think then I need to explain the zen nature of nalbinding and have soft nature sounds playing and candles burning in the background or something... and better/easier string to work with...
After the pandemonium had settled and the ladies left with their instructions, and little knotted scraps of wool that resembled nalbinding, I cleaned up and then sat down in front of the tube for some actual nal-zen time for myself. Made/finished two more wittle mousies... a dark green one and a super chunky brown one. Wait, he's not fat, he's just big plied. His ears are much cuter though. And apparently Dubis and Figit are begging for toys. :)

On the health front, I'm finally over my gloppy sinus funk, which is fabulous, believe me. I swear to better living through chemistry. It was our family motto growing up. :) Of course, Mom was going through med school. So either completely unrelated, or astonishingly so, I've been an allergic monkey all my life. If it is cute and fluffy, get it away. If it is growing and producing pollen, I'll be indoors. If it is dusty, I'll be attacking it with the swiffer. And sometimes you can't avoid stuff and you spend time being horizontal. I've never had a problem with anything ingested until my recently discovered intolerance to mussels.

So, imagine my surprise on St. Patrick's Day as I sit down to enjoy a cider and my face flushes and on the inside I feel like I'm swelling up like that little blueberry kid in Willy Wonka (only red) and my skin feels tight and taut and instantly dry and inflamed. Thankfully the inside was way worse than the outside. So I finish the cider, move on to vast amounts of water and figure it might be due to the smoke of flavored cigarettes or something. Ignore problem until the poker game at our place when I had a cider, had the same reaction, and switched to water, diet coke and smirnoff ice instead. It seems to take three smacks to wake me up. So, Saturday night, since Kirsten was up visiting/woodworking/avoiding the Richmond house, we went out to the Royal Mile Pub for dinner and enjoyed the cider on tap. Yup, you guessed it, bad idea. At least this time I stopped after drinking less than 1/5th of the pint. sigh. So suddenly, I'm cider intolerant. I don't drink that much, but the occasional cider was always so refreshing.

Cut to last night as I'm telling Bob and Laura. So Laura is empirical. She's trying to figure out which elements might be causing me the problem. Is it the apples, the fermented yeast, sulfites, what? Bob is a sadist. He wants me to try a little beer to see if it has the same reaction. So we get a sample of Bass, and despite my dislike of beer, I try it. Nope, no reaction... not so bad, nope, ... oh wait, here it comes... yup, same problem. It appears that I now have some form of intolerance to something in beer and cider now too. I think I need to try a little lambic like framboise to round out the data. Either way, it makes Pennsic a little less fun, and I'll have to stick to mixed drinks. sigh. No more Ace Pear Cider for me. I am bummed.

I'm very bummed. What is wrong with me? Mother Nature, why do you hate me so? These reactions are on top of a daily dose of Zyrtec. I'm not willing to try it without, screw the data.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next