Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Mousies...
2005-05-18 - 3:34 p.m.

Kliban cartoon

Lately I haven't been doing any major projects, just little fiddlings. Running into some of the fine Roxbury Folks at the Sheep and Wool Fest got me to commit to teaching a Nalbinding 101 class tonight. As with all things, as soon as I commit I realize that I've been doing it wrong/differently all this time. Holy Cow! My Oslo stitch is some mutant dense stitch, but isn't the one true Oslo stitch. yikes. My mutant stitch also affects how I learned other new stitches, so I'll have to go back and given them a second try as well. So, my apologies to Keilyn, Elspet, and the Sacred Stone Grrls, but I'll have to teach you the right one next time I see you. Also, kinda disappointed that none of the other groovy nalbinders caught my gaff and found a way to point it out. Trust me, I wouldn't have been offended, but I guess on the whole it is a small difference in technique that makes a big difference in the end product.

So, on Saturday, since I received no assignment for Commencement, I slept in, watched TV, checked on the Morgenstern kitten, made a grocery run, and found a yarn store less than 10 miles from here full of fun and wonderful threads. I also sat down to teach myself the right stitch, so I could show folks the correct one tonight. It is much less dense, more realistic for socks etc. and more commonly accepted than the other one I was doing. It is also a bit easier I think.

So, instead of working on something useful, I make more mousies. I admit that these are cute, fun, and easy to do as a way to test out new stitches on a small something that makes great cat toys. I know, I'm nuts, I'm allergic as all get out, but I make cat toys for my friends' animal friends. First was Garibaldi with a little brown piece of mouse. Then Omen's owner demanded love for her kitten too. Then I just made them and gave them away as I felt the whim. But they are so cute with their little french knot ears and braided tails. sigh...

mousies Here's a little gold one in the mutant Oslo stitch, and a pinto one in the one true Oslo stitch. Okay, bad picture, icky contrast, must try a true Oslo in the gold to compare. The little gold one is darn precious, so he's going to Garibaldi tonight since he has lost the first brown one, likely under a random piece of furniture. Perhaps it will also get the kitten to forgive me for intruding upon his territory to fill his water and food dishes and to clean his litter box. I don't think he's gotten over the first check when I accidentally surprised him coming out of his litter box. Oh the indecency of it all.
But wouldn't you forgive me if I presented you with this?: gold mutant stitch mouse

Ahem. Done pandering to the dander machine. I swear.
But it is nice to see the action shots of mousies in use.
Garibaldi with first mouseOmen with mouse #2
Mr. Garibaldi and Omen respectively, amused.

Sunday was sailing. Correction, Sunday morning was sailing. Sunday lunch was fine fried seafood at the Anchor Inn on the water in Pasadena, MD. Sunday afternoon was motoring back to home dock as the wind has completely died away. No amount of hoping and praying got us anything. sigh. But we had a good time. Gina and Susan got to join us for the first time, which was a hoot. And while we might have confused ourselves at times, we looked like a fairly smooth team and didn't have any major (or really any minor) gaffs. No boom-splashes. No boat groundings. No running into anything or anyone. Just the occasional winch operator error and bimini head banging. ouch, that still smarts. The weather was lovely, cool but not cold, sunny but not frying in the sun. And Matt got me a special net hat, that even serendipitously went with my outfit. :)

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next