Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

sniffle sniff cough
2005-05-11 - 2:04 p.m.

Funerals are always a mixture of joy and grief.  Joy at seeing friends and loved ones.  Joy of remembering all the good times.  Grief in the pain in your loved ones eyes.  Grief of the loss in your own heart.  The service was fitting, filled with music and rememberances.  Rest in Peace dear Cesca.

Something seriously irritated my sinuses on Wed afternoon, so I drove home from Richmond in a drug induced yet still snotty state.  This continued all day Thursday. Friday I was more or less okay, but since I didn't get any sleep on Thursday night, I took a personal day off work.  Friday night we had a glorious house full of peoples, including the Niemann, Dawson and pups, and Chuck and Chris.  Chris seemed very happy that I retrieved a picture of the Bera to place beside his bed on Friday night.  Saturday was Crown, and yet more allergen/sinus funk.  I'm sure I was very pleasant company.  Not that it mattered.  Several of the grumpy staff members were effective at sharing their mood with me.  After the event I went home and took drugs and a shower and beached trying to tame my nose. 

One of the main fun parts of my weekend was tons of Isobel time.  On the ride up, around the site during the day, on the ride home and most of Sunday at the Sheep and Wool Fest.  I had a great time hanging with her- through catty remarks and admiring others' impressive works, sharing laughs, fries, pottery and fiber fun.  w00t.

I almost bagged the sheep and allergen fest, but since I haven't made it ever since moving up here, I just had to go.  So armed with Afrin and not enough tissues, I ventured out on Sunday to pick up the AoD and head to the great and glorious MD Sheep and Wool Festival, always held against Spring Crown Tourney weekend. We looked at some of the animals that were hanging out with the various merchant booths, but skipped most of the animal only barns and shows and stuff. The bunnies, baby goats, and alpacas are soo cute. There was an insane amount of cool stuff and merchants from all over.  We pretty much just looked, aside from the sock purchase, for the first couple of hours.  Knitted and woven goods in abundance, string and roving all all different types, truly drool worthy.  We had a quick lunch of fried foods, and set out for some serious purchasing.  I managed a quick hello to a few scadians seen in passing, avoided a few others that I knew couldn't be quick, and we got to spend a good bit chatting with the truly fun and cool Spanish Peacocks, their Irish slave girl, and the Duchess.   I took home a pair of cute pink hand knit wool socks (that fit!  hooray!), some Lamb's Pride yarn that nalbinds like a dream, some gorgeous rosewood size 1 knitting needles, a pack of herbs that are supposed to keep moths away but really helped to clear up the sinuses and made the day bearable, a precious Fluer de Lys pin from Laura, some gorgeous rose colored fine mohair yarn, and a variety pack of stuff to spin.  The variety pack is nifty with samples of silk, flax, wool, alpaca, etc to try.  Now I just need to find my groovy SP turkish drop spindle.  I know it's around the house somewhere!  Oh, and I think I committed to teaching a Nalbinding 101 class to the shire.  Could be fun.  Wednesday nights seem to be the most compatible schedule wise...

The time spent since the S&WFest has been a sinus blurred existence.  Managed half a day on Monday at work and succumbed to the funk.  Took off yesterday to wallow at home and spent the entire day on codeine coff syrup.  I know I made another cute little nalbound mouse cat toy at some point, I played with my new needles and some silk, I knit some on a pouch, I checked some email,  and I slept a bunch.  Today is looking similar to Monday.  cough cough...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next