Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

absent friends continued...
2005-05-02 - 6:35 p.m.

The event was fairly lovely on Saturday, despite the weather.  The fighters seemed to greatly enjoy themselves, the artisans managed yet to teach and display in the tighter quarters.  Court was entertaining with a Kynny as herald, and many good gentles were rewarded for their efforts.  Feast was delicious to me, not to mention timely and warm.  And while the bardic wasn't all I'd hoped, since we missed the Olneys who bailed due to sickness and tired baby, it was fun none the less.

The funeral in the middle of the day was tough.  It is not fair for someone so young and joyful to be taken from our company.  While it was good to see friends, I'd much prefer different circumstances.  They had a lovely picture of Madeline on display taken the day she authorized rapier.  It brought both smiles and tears to many eyes.  The one thing missing from her service was music.  She was such a musical lady that it doesn't seem right to not have any to sing her to the heavens.  After the service I escaped outdoors and hummed a few songs to the holly bush in her honor.  Sometimes I feel guilty for my grief when others around me knew her better and miss her much more, of course that could be the Steele Magnolia's Ouiser in me.  But she touched me, and Tracy, our Virginia Peach, will be missed. 

At feast the room toasted absent friends, and Lost Cause sang When Fortune Turns Her Wheel for them.

And then this afternoon when I finally get around to checking the Merry Rose, I find of dear Cesca's passing.  Again, someone young and vibrant is taken from us.  Andi didn't smile as often as she should have, she often seemed so sad, but her smile was glorious and could completely transform her face and an entire room.  I'll never forget when she came to visit me on my vigil.  She entered the tent with a shy smile and sang Rosalind's song In Praise of Peers for me and me alone.  And she could not have found a more appreciative audience at that time.  I begged her to write the words in my vigil book so that I might have them always. 

This evening I came home and flipped through my vigil book to find her words and the lyrics to the song, even if the tune is lost to me.  I got to thinking that it is a shame that we wait for such a milestone, or until it is too late, to put out thoughts of praise to paper for posterity.  Cesca, if you can somehow hear this, know that your generous heart, your smile and laughter, your gift of song, and your many other fine qualities were indeed appreciated.  You are loved, in this world and the next.

If there is cat-free crash space available in the Richmond area, that wouldn't be too much of a burden, I'd willingly accept it so I could come visit and say my farewells to Cesca Tuesday night.  Alternately, if someone wants to carpool down to her service on Wed from the DC area, let me know.


Toast tonight to absent friends...

When Fortune Turns Her Wheel
words collected by G. Greig, Folk Songs of the North East

Come fill a glass, let's drink about, this night we'll merry be,
For harmony and friendship free, likewise my comrades ye,
To meet ye all since mair my friends, a sacred joy I feel,
Though far away, I'll no more stray 'til Fortune turns her wheel.

'Tis not vain clothes nor bold, he says, that's the estimate of man,
For when we meet a man in straits, we shake a friendly hand,
With them we'll sit, with them we'll drink, and to them our minds reveal,
And friends we'll be whatever way Blind Fortune turns her wheel.

It's many the time my heart's been sore and like to break in two,
And many's the time my feet's been cold, among the frost and snow,
With no-one there to pity me, nor yet to wish me well,
But maybe I'll repay them back when Fortune turns her wheel.

Adieu, ye hills of Calledon, likewise sweet Avondale,
For friendship binds the strongest ties, love tells the softest tale,
Adieu my friends and comrades here, I ken ye wish me well,
And I maybe yet can repay my debt when Fortune turns her wheel.

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next