Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

kids' demo and vomitorium- strangely not related
2005-04-19 - 4:38 p.m.

Saturday was a busy day.  I promised Violante that if the Elizabethan event was canceled, I'd come and help her at the Damascus Demo.  I dragged Alan and convinced Chris and Matt that they wanted to come fight at the demo too.  I got a table to myself indoors with displays of all sorts of my stuff.  I had a rigid heddle set up on my inkle loom with some chunky cotton for the kids to try.  That was quite amusing to see the final product.  But it killed my back trying to weave from the back of the loom to give the kids a better view from the front.  I also demoed nalbinding a bit and folks played with my mittens and socks.  I tossed out a bunch of my Elizabethan money which folks found very interesting, especially when they saw a hapenny and realized that it was penny cut in half.  Violante and I did some whipcording suspended from a basketball hoop, which was also quite fun.  The demo was only 3 hours (theoretically) but felt like much longer.  There were a lot of kids to deal with and I was so done with children by the end of the demo.  I also made the mistake of placing my coronet on display, as opposed to wearing it on my head, so it got quite a few fingerprints and grabby little children trying it on without asking.  Most worried when it fit over their heads like a collar around their neck and had to tell them to be careful taking it off because of the semi-sharp points.  Hello!  It is made for MY HEAD!  silly children.

But the library had a book sale, so I picked up some more trash books for $3, which was rewarding.  Now to just find the time to read.
After the demo, we cleaned up and headed out on a long sojourn to find steak.  Kynny insisted on steak, so quite a while later we found a Longhorn and ate massive amounts of food.  It was good to hang out with some folks after the demo.  Got to chat with relative newcomer Grainne, the Spanish Peacocks and my boys.  We even had the best waiter Philip aka: Meatball head.  He was a scream.  When we were ordering steaks, when Violante asked for well done, he asked if she wanted Sydney Poitier or Tiger Woods black.  Kynny ordered his steak Martha Stewart.  When he forgot a lime and opener for Kynny's second corona, he gave the table a round of beers on the house.  We made sure Meatball head was well taken care of.

Saturday night, after a brief respite( aka: Gen passed out for a nap) at home, we headed onto Kynny's parents place for his birthday party and poker game.  Company was beyond compare, the cheesecake was yummy, and the Texas Hold 'em poker was very entertaining.  While I didn't have 100% gains like Kynny, I put in $10 and got back $12, so on the whole not so bad.  I got two full house hands, and a couple of other slightly better than the rest of the table hands.  It was very frustrating the several rounds in a row that the table did better than any of the players.  phooey. Alan, naturally, napped through poker, since he doesn't play games and there wasn't much else going on that didn't involve the children. 

Sunday was supposed to involved the blonde cadet coming over, but we did yard work, cleaning up the house, and napping instead.  We ordered chinese food for dinner and settled down to watch more B5.  We only got through the appetizers, and decided to save the entrees for later. 

Alas, despite the normally high caliber of food from China Dynasty, I went to bed with a rumbly tummy, assuming it was from too much fried food.  Come 4:30am, I was up pacing and then expelling my dinner.  And again at 6am, 7:30, 9, 10, 10:30, 11, 11:30 and finally at noon.  Yup folks, Gen had caught some nasty food poisoning and had her own private vomitorium.  Kyna was gracious enough to advise me via AIM on what to do, etc.  I figured she'd tell me if it was something serious that should involve my MD.  But she said I'd be feeling better by midafternoon and boy did she call it.  I finally had a full glass of water around 2:30 in the afternoon, taken in itty bitty sips.  I had the presence of mind to email my sweetie who picked up blue gatorade on the way home from work so I could rebuild my electrolytes.  So, yesterday was fairly miserable, no really miserable.  I had about 30oz of gatorade, about the same of water, and 2/3rds of a piece of toast.  Today is much better, but I've only had half a flat diet coke, small amount of oatmeal, half a bland sandwich, and some hot tea.  The worst right now are the pains in my chest, shoulders and neck from the strain of the hurling process.  I am really not cut out to be a bulimic.  Ibuprofen and periodic stretches are helping somewhat.  owie owie ow...

Please let the rest of the week be uneventful...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next