Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Tori's Piano Bar
2005-04-07 - 2:15 p.m.

The frogs have awoken in the pond. This means they were all cute and peeping last night and this morning as we slept (er, tried to) with the windows open and a slight breeze. I was fine with the little buggers last night, but when I just needed 20 more minutes this morning, they were relentless. Even after I closed the window I could hear them... cute little frogs. Alan said he found two bullfrogs, two leopard frogs and a toad. yay! Toad!

Last night was the Tori concert with AoD and Knuckles. Blackbear called while I was trying to do my hair and makeup and chided me about making sure it was the right day this time... sigh. We head on out to Downtown DC, giving Knuckles the chance to see a bit more of the city. Dinner at the John Harvard Brewhouse was very yummy, and reasonably priced, if very noisy. Sharing the key lime pie with the girls was just the right amount of dessert.

The opening act was Matt Nathason who was ten time better than John Mayer, and pretty funny on stage. He obviously had a good sense of humor about the situation that folks are really there just to see Tori, let's be honest. But he was pretty rockin' on his guitar.

Tori appeared in her diaphanous pink fairy outfit and played to the crowd. Her sound guy was a f*cking genuis, and you could really feel the lower piano notes reverb in your chest. She had four different instruments 2 each back to back which was so cool when she'd mix the sounds of the grand piano and the church organ. She did a cover of Like an Prayer and even screwed up a bit on the Cherries from France song but adlibbed pretty well about the Jefferson Monument, cherry blossoms in bloom, and not having enough time to rehearse since she had radio interviews all day long.

Our seats were middle balcony, but pretty darned good since we could see all the time. Except when big-head-Tom two rows in front if me wouldn't sit still and kept on moving into my view. The seats really bugged me towards the end so I got to see Goodbye Pices standing at the entry stretching my hip and knees.

The drive back was nice and serene, even with me mutter obscenities at the other morons on the road and the slight detour to avoid a crime scene of some nature on 16th St. Got home and in bed midnightish, and crashed hard, despite the darn peeper-frogs.

Knuckles has my eternal gratitude for getting us tickets, and TicketMaster is less evil since they warned me that tickets would be on sale before they went on sale...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next