Genevieve

Waking Sleeping Sign Repose Wish
The gleam in your eyes is so familiar a gleam...

Leave a Comment

Bob's Party and Coronation all mushed together like a pink hairspray and mud sandwich...
2005-04-04 - 5:04 p.m.

What follows is a post I started on 3/30 and never got around to finishing.  It is now after the mudsplattered event called Coronation, and I am much  more relaxed.  I promise.  I was very proud of Scarlett not having any trouble with the mud whatsoever.  Mind you she's still covered in mud, but perhaps I'll run her thru a car wash on my way home tonight.  And hose out the floor mats...  and vacuum the interior... 

My Coronation consisted of Friday set-up, and sewing in the hall until time to meet with Robert and Denise to go over regalia stuff.  Left for the site at 2pm, got home 11:30pm.  But Val's dinner was wonderful, and Quinten saved my life by bringing Diet Coke and Popeye's Chicken and biscuts.  Friday night until 1:30am was spent in a slight panic because I couldn't find the prizes. 
Saturday morning was spent looking for the prizes some more, and racing to site to finish setting up and set-up the MOL table, and be ready for the Coronation ceremony, making sure all the regalia got in it's places.  Then I spent a few hours in the rain doing one authorization, and two renewals before cancelling the tourney, bailing inside, and missing the cambok game.  I then spent 2 hours (?) in a regalia meeting, which was very fruitful, if circuitous at times.  And then there was court (Yay! Caroline!  Yay! Bob!) and then feast, which was yummy but we missed our men.  Bob, Kynny, and Alan went to go push their buddy Chris out of the mud, and ended up missing feast almost entirely in order to join forces with the Baron of Dun Carraig and Robert of Calais to push a dozen or so other vehicles out of the parking lot.  Such good little monkeys to miss a truly delicious feast.  We saved the boys food, which they scarfed down in no time upon their sodden return.  Then there was some kitchen cleaning, and some singing, and some not singing, and then heading home to crash hard.  Mind you, after we had our stuff in the truck and were ready to make our weary way home, we stopped to help (with another kind gentleman) to get the Cheesecake Lady's truck out of hub-deep mud, made infinitely easier when she engaged her 4x4.  We returned to site before noon to clean up our stuff, strike camp, and help others tote stuff across the muddy abyss.

But, our tent top is dry and folded, the walls are hanging up to throughly dry, the other stuff is happily put away, and as Alan helped to extract cars from mud, I have extracted mud from all our clothes (except for the wool pieces).  The Captain of the Queen's Spears scarf is looking in better health since a soaking in some oxyclean, and then den is full of Royal stuff, and china that need cleaning, repair, and returning to storage. 

And for those wondering what became of the prizes, I found them last night at Midnight when I was putting stuff away in the Green String Room.  They were right where I had put them, so safely out of the way of the party that I hid them from myself.  Bonehead move, but I've contacted the winners and they'll get their prizes soon-ish.  Now to attend to my non-muddy rest of the laundry...

3/30/05-

Okay, quick right to life rant.  I am so tired of hearing the "we wouldn't treat animals this way" arguement.  We wouldn't support an animal in a constant vegetative state.  We'd have the decency to euthanize them.  The argument just doesn't compare.  Come up with another way to convince me, and in the meantime I will hope for Ms. Schiavo's peace and peace for those who love her.  For the record, if something happened to me to put me in such a vegetative or brain-dead state, let me go.  Donate any organs that may be useful, but let the spirit free.  How can I come back to haunt you if I'm trapped in a non-responsive body? :)

Mooooving right along....

Coronation is quick on our heels.  I have MOL stuff to arrange, royal stuff to catalog, some to fix/make, truck to pack, laundry to finish..  opps that last one not Coronation dependant.  I will be content with the event when the fighting is over.  Remind me not to sign up for Coronation staff ever again while still being Chamberlain.

Last week was Spring Break, which meant that the lovely University I work for gave me Wed, Thurs, and Friday off.  Ah, the luxury.  Wed. I went shopping, got my hairs trimmed, more shopping and then home to my sweetie.  Thursday I slept in, futzed, saw a matinee, picked up some stuff around the house, went to practice and came home to my sweetie and Kirsten and the pups.  Friday morning the pups thru in a bit of a puppy wrench into the plans.  See, Max has an incredible nose, and with it she found a total of 3 baby bunnies in the backyard.  Normally the yard is quite wildlife safe, except when the pups come to shake things up.  It should be noted that Markie had no interest in baby bunnies.  So we scooped the three up in turn, placed them in a shoebox with lots of papertowels and I whisked them away to the Second Chance Wildlife Center.  The folks there were very nice and took good care of my little charges, estimated to be about 10 days old.  Bunnies around Easter, imagine that?  The rest of the day was not nearly so eventful and just contained errands and sewing my party outfit.

Saturday was the Storvik Investiture which was fun, if really crowded.  But I got my lovely Miguel made whipcording bobbins, that work like a dream.  And when Ella and I played with them, another lady snagged up the second set.  and so the crack spreads... 

After the event, we loaded Scarlett with royal stuff that had no need to return to SC, and dashed back home to ready for the party.  Bob's party, as always, was a hoot.  Pooh on those who missed it.  And even poohier, call next time you are going to bail so a) we don't keep looking for you and b) we can give you grief the night of.  Come on, common decency.  If you are miserable, we want to know so we can poke fun at you.  If you are catching up on procrastination, we want to chide you for your laziness.  We're those kind of friends.  ;)

But the Borg cake was beyond compare, with the red velvet cake innards as a  really special touch.  The food was smashing, the booze was flowing, the costumes were cool, even those who came as themselves.  My thanks to Cosette for the pink hairspray.  I loved the music, and would adore copies of the mixes.  I totally didn't get the movies, but perhaps my future is just not that dark.  I think I'm too chicken to post a link to the pictures that Mr. Calm Salmon Vodka took.   Even if they are blurry, one in particular is not the angle I was hoping for...   But I do kinda like the post-hair-spray and the see-thru Gen pictures...

<< - >>



www.flickr.com

Host Profile Share Me

SCA Diary Ring
Join Now Ring Hub Random Previous Next